cd rom problems!!!!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2005, 08:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Angry cd rom problems!!!!!!!!

great another problem..........................

Well my dvd burner is out getting replaced by cpu solutions, i put my spare cd rom drive in my computer......well, needless to say, i've got a problem. My computer won't even read the drive, but i can open and close the drive, any suggestions?
__________________

robertconley619 is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Ensure that the IDE cable is good and that the jumper settings are correct.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

the cable is good because I just bought this computer about 3 weeks ago
__________________
My rig............

Biostar NF4ST-A9
AMD 3200+ sckt 939
1 gig of corsair value ram
250 gig sata150 WD hard drive
Dynex 5.1 sound card
Evga 6600 256mb Pci-E video card
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 08:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

and the jumper settings should be correct because the company was able to install windows and all the other software I bought with the original dvd burner
__________________
My rig............

Biostar NF4ST-A9
AMD 3200+ sckt 939
1 gig of corsair value ram
250 gig sata150 WD hard drive
Dynex 5.1 sound card
Evga 6600 256mb Pci-E video card
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 01:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to t3hn4t3
Default

Did you check the jumper settings on the cdrom drive you're trying to install?
t3hn4t3 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it definitely sounds like the jumpers on the cd-rom are wrong
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

how many optical drives do you have in it? which ide channel is the drive on?
joshd is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to robertconley619
Default

right now, their is only that drive in my rig but even if the jumper settings are wrong, shouldn't the settings be the same anyways seeing as how the dvd burner was running on it before?
robertconley619 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 10:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to t3hn4t3
Default

The only jumper settings you should be concerned with are the ones on the back of the cd-rom drive you're trying to install. There should be a guide telling you where to move the jumper (near the pins). Move it to the "master" jumper position, and then try it.
__________________

t3hn4t3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.