CD not detected - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2006, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default CD not detected

Hi I'm trying to boot off a CD, which I know is bootable from booting on it from another PC, but the PC won't detect it. I can't even open it on Windows Explorer (on that same PC).

I check IDE connections, they're fine.
__________________

The Astroman is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 01:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

it could be it is broken. is it cabled with any thing else, which ide channel.
is it detected in bios
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 03:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Yeah it's detected in bios, and no, it has a dedicated IDE ribbon cable. Set to secondary master in BIOS.
The Astroman is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to JeremyTM
Default

Check the bot configurations in the BIOS. What OS is on the PC your trying to boot to?
__________________
Looking for computer savvy staff for Tech Status. A place to discuss computers and technology! Check it out. First 2 loyal members to join will recieve free hosting with forum and blog options.

http://68.61.193.107/images/techstatuslogo.gif http://68.61.193.107/images/earth.png
JeremyTM is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 01:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Boot config is

CD
Floppy
LAN
HDD

and the OS currently installed is Windows 2000. Or is it 98? LOL Sorry, I don't remember. It's one of those 2.
The Astroman is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 01:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to JeremyTM
Default

OK so boot to the CD and try that.
__________________
Looking for computer savvy staff for Tech Status. A place to discuss computers and technology! Check it out. First 2 loyal members to join will recieve free hosting with forum and blog options.

http://68.61.193.107/images/techstatuslogo.gif http://68.61.193.107/images/earth.png
JeremyTM is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 09:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default

I can't boot on CD... It isn't detected. I can't even open it in Windows Explorer. Oh, and it's Win2K Pro.

Oh, and there are a couple of was I can setup the 2nd master in bios, there's like AUTO, NONE, CDROM, ATAPI REMOVABLE, ATAPI DRIVE, REMOVABLE STORAGE (I think)

And it's set to auto right now.
__________________

The Astroman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.