Case Powersupply DOA or am i doing something wrong? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2006, 05:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Greg
A lot of PSUs that come with cases indeed 'suck balls.'


Why take the chance?
I have the same case as he does and am currently using the PSU that came with it, and it has been just great for me. The reason for doing it is to test, make sure things are working therefore if a problem arises later during his build, he wont have as many variables to work with. Plus, he's getting a new PSU so worst case scenario is this one dies and he gets a better one...sounds good to me!
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

I suppose, but my point is why bother? It doesn't seem crucial that he tests some fancy LEDs to make sure they are working.

Oh, and the worst case scenario with a crappy PSU is that it dies and fries half of your components.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 07:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Greg
I suppose, but my point is why bother? It doesn't seem crucial that he tests some fancy LEDs to make sure they are working.

Oh, and the worst case scenario with a crappy PSU is that it dies and fries half of your components.
I was talking about if it died while he was testing the LEDs.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 11:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Greg
I suppose, but my point is why bother? It doesn't seem crucial that he tests some fancy LEDs to make sure they are working.

Oh, and the worst case scenario with a crappy PSU is that it dies and fries half of your components.
well since ive done it already and i dont have the power supply plugged in anywhere but the leds and the 80 mm fans i dont think im going to have "a worst case scenario". and your quote states that the powersupply will break by having no load well since it is running 2 80mm fans and all the leds that is not NO Load.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:54 AM   #15 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

yeah, yeah, I know. My point is it may not be the greatest thing ever for it, even if it doesnt explode. Do what you want
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 04:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

just stick a HDD or an optical drive on there with it, as well as the fan and the LEDs.

that will sort out the load problem no problem.

i run 2 powerfupplies with my computer (due to having a dell PSU and a 7900GT) and the second one just runs 2 opticals, 4 fans, and some cathodes. i have no had any problems with it, and it stays cool as cool can be.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.