Case Powersupply DOA or am i doing something wrong? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2006, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default Case Powersupply DOA or am i doing something wrong?

hey guys i just got this case

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144026

and i wanted to test out the fancy LED's however I dont want to install my motherboard right now but fore some reason when i hook up all the power for the LED's and plug it in not a single thing happens i flip the switch on the back of the PSU still nothing. is this normal concidering i dont have a motherboard.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Yeah, it wont turn on without the mobo (unless you short 2 specific pins). You are just gonna use the PSU that came with the case?
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no im going to upgrade to a 600watt one later because it wont support my 7900GT without it but all i have right now is the mobo and case. no cpu no ram no nothin oh ive got a 6800 laying around that i can use but without ram and cpu thats useless aswell. thanx though it had me worried for a second.

Upgraded PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182032
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 04:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

hmm, doesn't look too bad, but I am not sure about Rosewill. You might want make a seperate PSU post, and/or check the PSU section of this guide.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 04:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Greg
Yeah, it wont turn on without the mobo (unless you short 2 specific pins). You are just gonna use the PSU that came with the case?
Those two specific pins happen to be a green wire and a black wire. I dont know if any black wire will work, but I know the ones right around in the general vicinity work.

If anyone is curious, all you need is a paper clip. Unfold the clip, stick one end in the green wire hole and there should be a black wire right next to it, stick the other end in there. If it's plugged in and turned on, your PSU should turn on and in this case, the LEDs should light up.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Yep, any black wire (ground) should work. I wouldn't reccomend it though, since running it with little or no load may be bad for the PSU
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Greg
Yep, any black wire (ground) should work. I wouldn't reccomend it though, since running it with little or no load may be bad for the PSU
How would that possibly be bad for it? Sounds like you're just making stuff up and not stating facts..correct me if I'm wrong though.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Quote:
One characteristic of all switching-type power supplies is that they do not run without a load. This means that you must have the supply plugged into something drawing power for the supply to work. If you simply have the power supply on a bench with nothing plugged into it, either the supply burns up or its protection circuitry shuts it down. Most power supplies are protected from no-load operation and shut down automatically. Some of the cheap clone supplies, however, lack the protection circuit and relay. They are destroyed after a few seconds of no-load operation. A few power supplies have their own built-in load resistors, so they can run even though no normal load is plugged in.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

And based upon that quote, we can conclude what they just said confirms that any currently produced PSU that doesnt suck balls has it's own built-in load resistor, effectively making it safe to test the PSU by shorting the wires.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 05:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

A lot of PSUs that come with cases indeed 'suck balls.'

Quote:
running it with little or no load may be bad for the PSU
Why take the chance?
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.