Can't update my BIOS - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2015, 03:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 72
Default Re: Can't update my BIOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
You should have a file on the USB drive....looks like this one but your should have different numbers/letters

eh... it's for an ASUS board.
This is a different extracted file
yep, I have am autoexec/flashspi/p67ds3b3.f5 files.

Auto exec doesn't work as I get an error saying wont work with 64 bit windows (odd as i downloaded the 64 bit version).
__________________

dkingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 03:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Can't update my BIOS

If you have p67ds3b3.f5 on your usb stick and Q-Flash doesn't see your USB stick, try another port or a different brand USB stick. My Sony 2.0 USB stick does not work on my USB 3.0 port for some reason, but my other 2.0 USB drives do. The Sony drive does work on the USB 2.0 port...go figure
__________________

__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 09:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 72
Default Re: Can't update my BIOS

Thanks for the info guys but I'm throwing the towel in. Time for an upgrade.

Can anybody recommend a board compatible with the i52500k and a GTX970? cheers.
dkingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 11:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Can't update my BIOS

Although I am against flashing from windows, get @Bios and see if you can flash it from windows
http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList...ity_atbios.exe
disable your antivirus and any anti-malware software, also end any processes you have running in the background before you do this
__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 12:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Can't update my BIOS

^ I posted the instructions for that previously.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 01:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Can't update my BIOS

Yes you did!
but the OP never stated that he tried to use it, so I provided a link.

FYI:
@Bios is the only way you can run the bios update via windows. The autoexec and FLASHSPI files are ment to be run from a DOS floppy/cd/usb. I don't know why Q-flash does not see the p67ds3b3.f5 file on his USB drive, but I suspect the bios can't detect the USB drive
__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 01:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Can't update my BIOS

I know, I was just letting OP know that I posted the link in case they wanted instructions on how to run it.

I did ask if he ran @BIOS, but he never answered the question.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
to update the update you must uninstall the update after update raverx3m Off Topic Discussion 2 04-08-2015 12:25 AM
MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios?? NutterzUK Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 10-28-2009 10:20 AM
Update to windows update error 80070643 karen h Laptops and Notebooks 0 02-21-2009 05:05 PM
Firefox Update Error - AUS: Update XML File Malformed (200) Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 02-03-2008 09:45 PM
Update Windows with Offline Update peterhuang913 Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 5 01-21-2008 06:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.