Cant update graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2006, 01:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default Cant update graphics card

Ok so I just installed my 6800gs AGP card and reinstalled windows, I currently have no video driver. When i get the drivers from nvidia.com and try to install them it says I dont have nvidia hardware or something along those lines, wtf? How do I install the drivers to make my card work?
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 01:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

1. Is it just when you try to update that it says no videocard? OR even on the device manager on windows it say you have no videocard too?

2.I'd try to go to the videocard brand's website instead of nvidia.com. I tried to go to nvidia.com too for my 6600, but i couldn't find the drivers. After i went to Asus and i found them without a problem.

-Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 01:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Did your Vid card come with a drivers CD?
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 01:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

In the device manager it just says "video controller(vga compatable)". I do have a cd with the drivers but I really dont want to install the CD ones unless nothing else works because they usually arn't as good as more modern ones. Yes I have tried the drivers from EVGA directly, those install but then do nothing. Right now im working on the default windows drivers.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the 6800 gs is a relatively new card, so the drivers you have downloaded might not support it yet.
you can try some of the drivers at www.guru3d.com
you'll be looking for forcware drivers, probabbly at least 81.XX
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

After doing a bunch of searching I found the answer, there ARE no drivers that support my card yet lol. There are only beta drivers but Id rather wait for real ones.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Use the CD. You can always upgrade to better drivers later.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 02:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr_Threepwood
After doing a bunch of searching I found the answer, there ARE no drivers that support my card yet lol. There are only beta drivers but Id rather wait for real ones.
beta doesn't necessarily mean bad. I hardly ever use official video card drivers.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 04:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

just play older games for now. hurray, cs 1.6 !
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.