cant uninstall norton 04 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2006, 12:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

hmm dam it doesnt work i just used it and i tried to install 06 and it still says i got a previous version of it so... iunno
__________________

__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 12:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default

its probably a running process did u check those?
__________________

__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 01:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

yea this is weird should i try running that program again??
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 01:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default

yeah did u kill the norton process too while u were at it...wen i was using norton 04 i used that program and it got rid of it but norton 06 was a pain to get installed well maybe theres some registry keys left try searching your whole hard drive for any norton remnanats empty out ur recycle bin. And try going into the C drive and then the program files and delete all the symantec folders.
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 03:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

hmm weird forget im gonna throw norton 06 away LOl anyone know any good anti virus program
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 03:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default

GOD U FINALLY SAW THE LIGHT YES TRY http://www.kaspersky.com/ they have a 30 day free trial personally i havent tried it but wen i was looking for avs that was many peoples choice for ease of use and safety features.

Tell me how it turns out with kaspersky, and if u didnt like norton 06 u can always get a refund its a rather easy process
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT...1?OpenDocument


I also found a chart here of kaspersky feature set and comparison chart http://usa.kaspersky-labs.com/produc...Comparison.pdf
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 06:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Kaspersky is the best, ( it's expensive ) !

well what I can suggest it you can try registry cleaner like the one which you can download from here

http://csat.co.nr.googlepages.com/errclean.exe

as it was mentioned sometimes you need to disable the services first then you run the tool.

Good Luck
amlife is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 07:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Avast is the best I've found in my opinion. But there are many different opinions out there there like ***holes. HAHA But I quit using Norton Mcafee and Zone alarm at about the same time around 2002.Then they turned into bloated crap.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.