Can't play anything! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2005, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to blockman
Default Can't play anything!

System Specs:
Intel Desktop Board D945PSN
Intel Pentium D 820 (2.8 GHZ)
480w PSU
Hitatchi 160GB SATA HDD
EVGA 7800gt PCI-E
Samsung DVD-rom
Samsung Dual layer burner
Samsung Floppy
120mm Fan on the back of case
Exhaust fan in bottom PCI slot
CPU port on side of case
HDD fans

I posted before about overheating issues and thought that was the cause of my problems. Well, even though I'm running 15 C cooler I'm still having issues while running games.

Both Call of Duty 2, Half Life 2 and Age of Empires 3 give me problems. CoD2 and HL2 shut down after playing for a minute or two; and other games like Far Cry and AoE3 give me the runtime install shield error. I tried my legit copy of windows XP pro and I had errors on that. I then tried a copy of windows XP pro Corporate and I get problems with that too. I thought it was the heat, but now I'm baffled. My HDD is new, my ram is fine (I think) and my PSU is running strong.

Anyone have any reccommendations at all? This is getting to be really annoying. Btw, this is all newly purchased, brand new parts. So it's not like the HDD is goin bad on me or anything. I'm just stumped!
__________________

blockman is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Did you install all the drivers?
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 10:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Are you're Drivers fully updated
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to blockman
Default

I've installed all but the intel chipset software installation utility. The first time I formatted and installed windows I was able to install all the drivers on the Intel disk fine, but ever since that time I've not been able to install the microsoft directx 9 and intel chipset software installation utility from the disk. Other than that, I can install everything.

Even AIM shuts down unexpectedly! And the Intel heat monitor doesn't even start up anymore.

I have performed diskeeper defrag and its like 100% defragged. I'm clueless. I'm using the same windows disk that I've used on my past computers. I'm close to calling Geek Squad lol... .
blockman is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 12:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to blockman
Angry

As far as I know everythings updated: intel Bios, sound, graphics, everything... This is really frustrating.
blockman is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 01:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to blockman
Default

I started up Counter Strike Source and before it could fully load my computer went blue screen then rebooted. WHen I tried to update AoE3 they said I was missing some certain .exe file. Dont remember exactly what it was other than it being en executable.

Has anyone gone through Geek Squad? They are expensive as hell, but if they can diagnos the problem... $60 may be worth it. Any advice or input?
blockman is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 02:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

do a google search for ultimate boot cd and use all the tools there to test .
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 03:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

did you update the bios when you were building the pc or as a potential fix for the problem? DX problems normally suggest issues with GFX cards.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 03:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to blockman
Default

IN response to the bios update... I updated it after I built the pc, installed windows, installed call of duty 2 and it would shut down or reboot.

It could be gfx card problems but what exactly?

I also ran cpu burn in last night and it gave me Runtime error! which didn't exlpain anything more than that.
blockman is offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 03:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to blockman
Default

I also made a boot cd for Ultimate boot cd... When i restart teh blue screen with your options comes up fine, I go into system tools or whatever it is, and every memory test i've gone into brings me to a dos screen with some writing at the top and then it pretty much stays tehre unless i manually restart. Then when it boots up again says theres an error on the disk/cd hit any key to reboot. nothing works for me right now im sad :-(
__________________

blockman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.