Can't logon to windows (system has been shut down) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2005, 05:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy Can't logon to windows (system has been shut down)

I'm not sure about hard ware problems but because my PC was slow and kept crashing, I tried to do do a clean installation of windows XP. Half way through I got this message

Stop: (000021a) (fatal system error)
The Windows Logon Process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of Oxc000354 (OXOOOOOOOO OXOOOOOOOO)
The system has been shut down

I'm now on a friends PC, is my PC dead?

Please help, Thanks

fishyfingers is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

whats the specs? did you alter anything?

Osiris is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 09:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2

I was doing the same thing I did on two other computers and windows installed fine. I clean installed windows xp on my friends PC just to make sure of the discs, he was going to give it away, but now it's running like new. So I pretty much knew what I was doing and I knew the discs were working fine.

On my PC...

First I did a quick Fat32 format and it worked, I installed all the basic programs (norton, microsoft office, anti spyware programs, mozilla etc.
worked fine for a day, then it crashed. I tried to recover it with the installation disc, but got that message. So I tried all the other formats, complete and quick, FAT and NTFS. I was never able to get up to the installation page after the initial reboot (approx 39mins to go page). I kept getting that message.

I haven’t altered anything physically.

Primary Master 20gb
Parallel Port=LPT1,378,IRQ7

CPU Speed=1700MHz

Total RAM=256MB
Cache (Ext)=128KB

I've done google on my 'fatal system error' message and the microsoft website said something about the recover console, which I can get to but I don't have a clue how to use it.

fishyfingers is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.