Can't Install Operating System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2005, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Unhappy Can't Install Operating System

Recently I have been having freezing problems with my computer, so I tried to format the hard drive and reinstall windows XP Home. When I put in the desk it tells me that it is missing a file and that this is a "fatal error". It keeps saying that it is restarting setup, but it just keeps saying that it is missing a file "fatal error", also I was told that you format your hard drive with the windows XP disk is this correct? I don't know if I have a virus on my computer or something. If anyone can help me solve this problem I would apperciate it.
__________________

john2562 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 01:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can't Install Operating System

Quote:
Originally posted by john2562
Recently I have been having freezing problems with my computer, so I tried to format the hard drive and reinstall windows XP Home. When I put in the desk it tells me that it is missing a file and that this is a "fatal error". It keeps saying that it is restarting setup, but it just keeps saying that it is missing a file "fatal error", also I was told that you format your hard drive with the windows XP disk is this correct? I don't know if I have a virus on my computer or something. If anyone can help me solve this problem I would apperciate it.
Try asking one of your friends for their xp disk, it could be that yours in courrput or something
__________________

a1cd is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Check the back of your CD to make sure there aren't any scratches or areas that are dirty. Then, try deleting your partition then creating a new one (don't choose the fast way) that is NTFS.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 03:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

There are many factors to corrupt files during an install. Try one of the following in this order:

- Use a known good XP disk
- Use a known good CD-ROM drive
- Replace the IDE cable with a known good
- Remove any cards on the PCI bus
- Run memtest86 (sig for download) to check for memory errors

Post back results please.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 01:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks for your help. I think it could be the XP disk. Unfortunatly I would have to buy another XP disk just to see if that solves the problem.
john2562 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 01:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Were you attempting to reinstall windows from the desk top or from the cd at boot?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 01:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john2562
Thanks for your help. I think it could be the XP disk. Unfortunatly I would have to buy another XP disk just to see if that solves the problem.
if you own the license key, then just download one...

as long as you own/\ then it should be legal
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 01:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
Were you attempting to reinstall windows from the desk top or from the cd at boot?
From the CD.
john2562 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 02:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

i'm going to assume you have a poorly copied pirate CD or your hard drive has bad sectors.. Missing file errors are caused by one of the two.



best thing to do if you have a Copy of an xp cd is go and buy a real one, better support in the longrun, and you can upgrade to sp3 when it's released without a hitch

can also be a bad cd drive, or loose cables.. Sometimes memory.. but generally system won't boot/randomly restarts when memory is bad.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 10:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

have you recieved any BSOD's? sometimes freezing and format/install problems are caused by failing IDE drives. i know on more than one occasion i have tried to run a clean install because of problems with the OS (not real problems apparently :O) and then had a ****load of problems re-installing and formatting. these problems eventually came down to a failing optical drive or hdd.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.