Can't Install!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2006, 09:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default Can't Install!?

I'm not sure if this is the correct thread, so I apologize if I'm in the wrong area. (I couldn't find "software troubleshooting)

I went and bought the 06 Norton Internet Security and tried to install it and nothing happened. Now I don't know much about computers so I'm lost. It won't even read the disc. I tried to uninstall the 05 Norton but that didn't work either. I tried to run it myself and nothing, I kind of hear it click once and then it asks me to insert the installation disc.
Games and music run instantly. I was told I may have to bring the comp to someone at the store to look at it.
Any advice on this? I don't kow what to do. I would go out and buy the Mcafee and try to install that but what if that doesn't work either?
I'm not sure what specs you need but I have the info below. It's alot but like I said, not sure what's needed to help me.

Thanks and any advice will help.

Computer Type ACPI Multiprocessor PC
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
OS Service Pack [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180 (IE 6.0 SP2)
DirectX (DirectX 9.0c)

CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 1800 MHz (13.5 x 133) 2200+
Motherboard Name FIC AM35 (3 PCI, 1 AGP, 2 DIMM, Audio, Video)
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8375 ProSavageDDR KM266
System Memory [ TRIAL VERSION ]
BIOS Type Award (03/04/03)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)

Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 (64 MB)
Video Adapter S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR (32 MB)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000
3D Accelerator S3 ProSavageDDR (86c420)
Monitor Compaq 7550 [17" CRT] (1250715843696)

Audio Adapter Realtek ALC202(A) @ VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller

IDE Controller VIA Bus Master IDE Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive ST380022A (80 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
Optical Drive PHILIPS CDD5301 (DVD:12x, CD:32x/10x/40x DVD-ROM/CD-RW)
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

D: (FAT32) 3978 MB (756 MB free)
Total Size [ TRIAL VERSION ]

Keyboard Compaq PS2 Keyboard (2K - 3)
Mouse PS/2 Compatible Mouse

Primary IP Address [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Primary MAC Address 00-40-CA-51-1C-5C
Network Adapter Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC (169. [ TRIAL VERSION ])
Network Adapter WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface (151. [ TRIAL VERSION ])

Printer Fax
USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
USB2 Controller VIA USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller

rose0295 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 12:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200

Download AVG.

Its completely free, wont slow your computer down like nortons, and tends to find more viruses than nortons and mcafee put together. -> then follow the download links.

To uninstall old version of Nortons (05?), first try uninstalling it through control panel > add/remove programs. If that fails, goto
and read how to uninstall it using their own removal tool (silly isnt it... a company that needs to release a removal tool so their software can be uninstalled)

Hope this helps,

imation is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 11:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

Norton is evil, spawn of the devil and mcaffee is only a little better, AVG is just fine but if you want better protection something like Kaspersky or Pc-cilin are a good choice.
Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 05:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2

Is it really that good if it's free?

And I was able to uninstall Norton 05 (sorry for the misunderstanding on that). I meant that uninstalling the old version didn't help the new version run.

I realy don't want to purchase any other software incase they don't work either. I think trying to return the Norton is going to be a hassle (they say you can't return opened software at the store).

So...any advice on why it's not working on my pc?
rose0295 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 08:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Law's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200

You can only return open software for another copy of it if it's defective. I would try and return it for another one since you won't get your money back anyways. I wouldn't be running Norton IS on such a low end machine like yours since it tends to hog alot of resources, I'm not trying to be rude but I would prefer you run something like AVG, Avast or AntiVir since they are free and better at system resources.
Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.