Can't go to BIOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2015, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 7
Exclamation Can't go to BIOS

Hello. I'm new here and in desperate need of help. I'm sorry for not making a proper introduction on the Introduction area, but this is urgent.

I needed to Format my computer as it has been quite a while since last I did it. And it never takes too long anyway, so I decided to backup my stuff and do it now.

As usual I enter my BIOS and get ready to set my Booting device to the DVD player, but instead I choose another option accidentaly, which I believe it said N/A. I saved it and Exited.

The Computer restarted and then nothing else happened. Just a black screen and my Screen saying: "No sginal". And this is the issue. I cannot access my BIOS and change the settings.

I have also tried resetting my BIOS by using the CMOS Jumper and even removing the CMOS battery but nothing happens. I can't acess my Bios nor can I do anything with my computer. And this is the bigger issue!

I need to finish what I was working on in the max of 24h or I'm going to be in serious trouble.

I would be extremelly gratefull if someone here could give me more options to work with. Any way of reaching the BIOS again?
__________________

Amethyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 09:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: Can't go to BIOS

What type of computer are you using (laptop/desktop)? If it's a desktop, and you bought it off a store shelf, what's the brand/model? If someone built it for you, what's the motherboard model?
__________________

__________________
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is knowing not to put one in a fruit salad.

Professional slacker and an expert procrastinator (16 years experience) with a Ph.D in sarcasm.
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 09:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 7
Default Re: Can't go to BIOS

It's a dekstop and it was custom built, but not built by me some years ago.

Anyway my Motherboard is the Asus P8Z68-V LX

Sorry for not mentioning this on my first post.
Amethyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: Can't go to BIOS

When you jumped the motherboard, did you jump it for 5-minutes with the PSU off and the CMOS battery out?
__________________
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is knowing not to put one in a fruit salad.

Professional slacker and an expert procrastinator (16 years experience) with a Ph.D in sarcasm.
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 09:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 7
Default Re: Can't go to BIOS

No. Only for 20 seconds. Does it need to be longer? Most places I saw only recommend seconds off. But I can try 5 minutes.
Amethyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: Can't go to BIOS

It can take some time for the IC chips and capacitors on the board to release their stored charge, so yes, leave it jumped for anywhere between five and twenty minutes, with the PSU off, and the CMOS battery taken out (Don't lose it, like I did. )
__________________
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is knowing not to put one in a fruit salad.

Professional slacker and an expert procrastinator (16 years experience) with a Ph.D in sarcasm.
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 09:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Can't go to BIOS

Shouldn't have to leave it on for 5 minutes. What I recommend when clearing CMOS though, is discharging the PSU's stored power prior to removing the battery / using the jumper.

Unplug PSU from wall.
Press power button a few times to drain any stored electricity in PSU's capacitors
Proceed to remove CMOS battery and/or clear using jumpers.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 09:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 7
Default Re: Can't go to BIOS

Just did 25 min and still the same : (

Is there another way?
Amethyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 09:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default

Try Carnage's suggestion. He's got way more experience with this kind of stuff than I do.
__________________
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is knowing not to put one in a fruit salad.

Professional slacker and an expert procrastinator (16 years experience) with a Ph.D in sarcasm.
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 10:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 7
Default Re: Can't go to BIOS

I just did and it's still the same.

What's making this so tricky to solve. Been already some hours with this like this.
__________________

Amethyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bios error 1283, wrong bios installed... i think. intellectualjoke Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-21-2012 12:23 AM
If I can't get a dsl signal but my neighbor can How can I bonce(?) off his area? Org Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 09-13-2009 04:15 PM
Flash bios/get rid of bios password. adinu Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-26-2005 09:30 PM
If I flash the BIOS, will it get rid of the BIOS Password Harper Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 24 04-14-2004 03:24 PM
Can't Rember BIOS Password?????? HighVibe Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 11-15-2003 10:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.