Can't Get a Video Signal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2005, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default Can't Get a Video Signal

Hello, I had a question that I cant seem to find the answer to and thought maybe you could help me. I acquired a P4 2.0 computer from a friend, and am trying to get it to work. The problem is, I cant get a video signal. The monitor I'm sure is operational, as is the video card(Geforce Ti4600), but the motherboard(Intel D850MV) just isnt sending out a signal. This computer worked fine at my friends house, yet now at my house it wont even display a picture. I can only assume that some type of static electricity damaged the motherboard or the video card slot itself is damaged. I tried resetting the motherboard via jumpers but to no avail. Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.
__________________

s37d is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Make sure the video card is properly seated in the agp slot. Do you get any video at startup for the bios load? Does you mobo and cpu act as if the bios is loading properly? If the mobo has onbaord video, pull the agp card see if you get video that way. Probably is the Nvida card not the mobo.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default

Make sure the video card is properly seated in the agp slot.
-Yep, reseated it many many times.

Do you get any video at startup for the bios load?
-No, no signal at all

Does you mobo and cpu act as if the bios is loading properly?
-Really can't tell, if I were going by the sounds then it doesn't seem to change at all, as if it wasn't processing anything.

If the mobo has onboard video, pull the agp card see if you get video that way. Probably is the Nvida card not the mobo.
-No onboard video, this card worked fine in the computer at my friends house, something happened between his house and mine.
s37d is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 10:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

When you press the power switch does the fan on the powersupply start up. And do you hear any beeps?
Law is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 10:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default

Yes the fan starts up, and no no beeps. It did beep 3 times at first, which meant a 64k memory error. So i downloaded the mobo manual off Intel.com and it said to switch the ram to the first 2 slots, and after one reboot it didn't beep anymore. Problem still remained of no video signal, though.
s37d is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 11:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You said the computer work fine with that same video card install at your friend house?
Law is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Put the monitor on the floor and give it a swift kick... Plug it back in and it will work... Try it...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 11:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default

Yes it did work fine at friends house, also I checked the card in my main machine and it worked fine there as well, which leads me to believe that its not the card, but rather the motherboard. Monitor is functioning properly as well.
__________________

s37d is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.