cant get speakers to work - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2010, 08:19 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: cant get speakers to work

Look at the notification area of your taskbar, where it shows the program icons that are loaded. You should have a Audio Manager running, make sure it's set to Speaker Outputs and not a HDMI or Digital Device. If it's not loaded look in your Start Menu for the Audio Manager.

You have Via Sound where I have Realtek but it should be similar.

__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 08:30 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: cant get speakers to work

mer?


__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 08:33 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: cant get speakers to work

That is the name of it. What slay is referring to is in Control Panel.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 08:43 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: cant get speakers to work

i cant click on " manage audio Devices " i click on it but nothing happens.. at this point im thinking about just doing a system restore. EVERYTIME windows updates something gets effed up

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 08:50 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: cant get speakers to work

Well don't give up so easily try again one last time and download the hd audio drivers from VIA and try again.
via hd audio driver windows 7 - Google Search

If that doesn't try I'll take the blame for not getting you back online with your sound.
If all else fails, then yeah get your windows 7 dvd and go back to square one again, this time get the drivers ready for when windows 7 is done installing.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 08:52 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: cant get speakers to work

Then set updates to notify you before installing. This way you know what you are upgrading.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 08:55 PM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: cant get speakers to work

MikeFurryXP...

for step 4 what VIA product do i select?
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 09:01 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: cant get speakers to work

Directly from ASUS.com: VIAģ VT1708S

So the second one down.

Google is your friend
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 09:02 PM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: cant get speakers to work

To be perfectly honest I don't know what kind of mobo via sound cards you have, but if I had to be specific right now try the latest one as posted here.
Sorry this isn't being corrected quickly enough as it should be but we'll figure it out.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____
VIA HD Audio Driver Dated: 16-Sep-2010

Download version 8700A
OS supported Windows XP, Windows XP 64-Bit, Windows Server 2003 x64, Windows Vista 32-Bit, Windows Vista 64-Bit, Windows 7 32-Bit, Windows 7 64-Bit
Chips supported VIA HD Audio Codecs VT1702S, VT1705, VT1708B, VT1708S, VT1716S, VT1718S, VIA HD Audio Codecs VT2010, VT2002P, VT2020S, VIA HD Audio Codecs VT1812S, VT1818, VT1828S
Notes The audio drivers provided on this website are general sound effect drivers with common functions. System manufacturers and motherboard vendors customize audio hardware and software and therefore, to ensure optimal sound quality and compatibility, we strongly recommend you to obtain the system-validated and certified audio drivers directly from your system manufacturer or motherboard manufacturer. If you use audio drivers provided on this website and you experience a difficulty, we recommend that you uninstall them and instead use the latest drivers supplied by your motherboard or system manufacturer.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 09:08 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: cant get speakers to work

That sound is onboard, Mike. Yes, that is the latest driver. He needs to get that.

http://www.viaarena.com/Driver/VIA_HD_Audio_vv8700a.zip
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get speakers to work right JB Rekit Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 04-09-2009 03:39 PM
Speakers Don't Work Kevinator9 Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 01-04-2008 01:33 PM
Speakers Won't Work. motoxer4533 Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 06-08-2006 02:42 PM
will this speakers work? bonehelm Off Topic Discussion 4 05-20-2006 09:40 PM
Getting 6.1 speakers to work ThE sHoZnAt Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 01-02-2005 11:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.