Can't get past HP Blue Startup Screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2008, 03:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default Can't get past HP Blue Startup Screen

Okay so I've got some real problems here; looking for any and all help.

I'm currently using an HP Media Center m8020n computer. I've got a 9600 Dual-slot GSO graphics card and 2 GBs of RAM.

I received 2 more sticks of RAM today and was adding them to the computer. After installing the RAM and blowing some pressurized air through the inside of the computer to get all the dust out, I tried starting my computer up again.

It won't let me get past the blue HP startup screen. There is no power to USB devices, so I can't hit ESC for setup, or F10 or anything.

I've since removed all PCI devices, and everything else. As of now I have my motherboard, graphics card, my original 2 GB of RAM and power supply working together and it still yields that same fateful blue screen. I've reseated the RAM countless times to no avail.

Is this a fried motherboard? Is there any way to troubleshoot something like that? Would removing the CMOS battery be a good idea? And what consequences become of that?

Thanks for any help; it's greatly appreciated.
__________________

pezdukie is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 05:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Can't get past HP Blue Startup Screen

Reset the cmos, could have been a RAM limitation on what the bios could support and it freaked out while updating. Also, try to have only one stick of RAM, the cpu and heatsink and the GPU plugged up and see if it attempts to get by the blue screen...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can't get past HP Blue Startup Screen

Thanks a lot for the reply. I tried resetting the CMOS, and also tried booting with 1 GB of RAM. Sadly no help.
My blue HP screen isn't right either. all the different keystroke commands that are usually on the bottom of the screen aren't there. There is also a random "uR" on the left side of the screen. Don't know how to explain that.

Are there any other ideas?
pezdukie is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Can't get past HP Blue Startup Screen

try unpluging the power cord and removing the cmos battery, that will reset the cmos
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 05:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can't get past HP Blue Startup Screen

Woooow, thank you so much philbar and charles. After removing the power cable, than the battery I finally got past that ridiculous blue screen of horror. Of course than I had a boot failure, but that'll be fixed in due time.

So what kind of changes can I expect as a result of a reset bios? anything substantial?

Also, you think this happened because I used 4 GB of RAM when my max was 3.3? I was told by HP customer service that it would work okay, it just wouldn't use all 4 GB. Should I just stick with 3 of the sticks at most?


Well, I've got a lot of work ahead of getting this p.o.s. back together, but thank god I won't have to buy another motherboard or more.

Thanks again!
pezdukie is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 08:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Can't get past HP Blue Startup Screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by pezdukie View Post
So what kind of changes can I expect as a result of a reset bios? anything substantial?

Also, you think this happened because I used 4 GB of RAM when my max was 3.3? I was told by HP customer service that it would work okay, it just wouldn't use all 4 GB. Should I just stick with 3 of the sticks at most?
Your plug n play stuff should be recognized with no problem, some other things may have to be set manually. Kinda depends. Shouldn't be a problem, maybe none at all. And I don't know for certain, but I am leaning to not using 4GB memory. Is it XP that you are using ?
oldskool is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 11:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can't get past HP Blue Startup Screen

I'm using vista. I'm actually on the computer right now typing this, and have all 4 GB of RAM in the system. Does that mean somehow blowing the pressurized air through the system caused the problem?
pezdukie is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 11:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Can't get past HP Blue Startup Screen

It may have, and here's why. Pressurized air can be a little wet. You might have sprayed too close to components. Either some moisture got in there and wreaked havoc, or maybe you blew some dust inadvertently into something that caused the resulting problem. I would say it's not necessarily over yet - let's see what happens in the coming hours and days to see if the problem has cleared up.
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blue screen error--stop:0x0000007e guana Microsoft Windows and Software 9 10-06-2008 04:59 PM
Computer Freaking Out at Startup (Hijackthis inside) keyweez360 HijackThis Logs (finished) 14 09-14-2008 10:22 AM
Blue Screen before login Chrono Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-28-2007 03:36 AM
IBM Announces PetaFLOP Blue Gene Supercomputer maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 06-27-2007 06:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.