cant get network card to work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 04:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default cant get network card to work

i have a hp compaq computer, i never did a rescue disc so when i reinstalled windows all the built in network card, sound, video and usb wont work as the drivers arnt installed, when i try to install it cant find on the windows cd and i need internet which wont work without the network.

On HPs site with drivers i need to know what model the computer is or an SKU number but on the site i cant find any computer that looks like mine so i dunno where to find the information :P



It's the table model, not the tower.
Any all-in-one drivers that could get my internet working so i can use autodetection on hps site, since i cant download the autodetector.
__________________

fuzz is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What is the S/N of the unit.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

where do i find the s/n?
fuzz is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Go to the website. Go to the Download section. Put in te model of the desktop. Download the mobo drivers and put them on a cd. Go into control panel and find the ! for the devices not working correctly and then right click on them and choose the update driver. You system will find them on the CD your just created and you should be good to go!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

ya but i can't find out what the model is :P
fuzz is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 07:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

It has got to be on there somewhere. There should be an Id TAG on that case or inside on the cover or some place!! Usually, it is on the back panel.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 08:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

ya theres lots of numbers and letters but nothing that stands out like "hp compac A500" :P
fuzz is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 08:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

write all the numbers down and try inserting them into the model search on the website. Hopefully, you;ll get there!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

but are all model so diffrent? i cant download without a model number but wouldnt another driver work?
fuzz is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Check the stickers. I need a S/N.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.