Can't get floppy disk drive to work. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2011, 10:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default Can't get floppy disk drive to work.

I hope that I put this in the right place.

Ok, I know that floppy's are are outdated, but I have a bunch of files that I created years ago when floppy was all you had.

I had an IDE floppy in my computer that I was using and one day I tried to open some floppy files and it said that the disc wasn't formatted and did I want to format the disc.

I got a brand new floppy and it said the same thing. I tried to format it and got a message that said Windows could not format the disc.

So, I thought maybe the old IDE floppy drive had gone belly up. I ordered a new USB floppy drive from TigerDirect and installed it. It does the same thing. I took a floppy to an IBM computer in another room and it opened. I also took the USB floppy drive to the IBM and connected it to a USB port and it opened the files. The older floppy's were created on a computer running 98SE. The computer I now have is running XP.

Can anyone help me get this floppy drive working so that I can access the files.

I have an HP Compaq dc7600 small form computer running XP Pro, SP 3. The floppy drive that I ordered is a PowerUp G54-8016 external USB floppy drive.

Any help would be appreciated.

I don't know why the IDE floppy was working then quit, and now the new floppy won't work.
__________________

kemperhills is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 02:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Start>right click on My Computer>Manage>Device Manager. What does it say for the floppy devices?
__________________

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can't get floppy disk drive to work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
Start>right click on My Computer>Manage>Device Manager. What does it say for the floppy devices?
The floppy controllers and the floppy disk drives show both are working properly.
kemperhills is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Default floppy drive

ive found sometimes that malware has caused some drivers to corrupt. go to view in your device manager and view hidden devices and see if there are any non working drovers in this area as well. particularly under the non plug and play devices.
ymustubother is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: floppy drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by ymustubother View Post
ive found sometimes that malware has caused some drivers to corrupt. go to view in your device manager and view hidden devices and see if there are any non working drovers in this area as well. particularly under the non plug and play devices.
Ok, thanks.
kemperhills is offline  
Old 05-09-2011, 11:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 84
Default Re: floppy drive

Maybe try a library computer and transfer all the files to a usb disk if you cant get it working on your computer
thunderdome is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 12:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Default Re: Can't get floppy disk drive to work.

Why would you use floppies in the first place...

Why haven't you bought usb drives. They are pretty cheap and easy to use for data usage. Don't bother with the floppy stuff man. Keep up with the times.
Jdimstr333 is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 09:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can't get floppy disk drive to work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdimstr333 View Post
Why would you use floppies in the first place...

Why haven't you bought usb drives. They are pretty cheap and easy to use for data usage. Don't bother with the floppy stuff man. Keep up with the times.

Because I have them already, bunches of them, and I have the floppy drive and simply don't won't to throw them away. I like flash drives, have one in fact that has been washed and dried twice and still works as good as the day I bought it.

But I have all this perfectly good storage media and I don't won't to throw it away.
kemperhills is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 04:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 84
Default Re: Can't get floppy disk drive to work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kemperhills View Post

Because I have them already, bunches of them, and I have the floppy drive and simply don't won't to throw them away. I like flash drives, have one in fact that has been washed and dried twice and still works as good as the day I bought it.

But I have all this perfectly good storage media and I don't won't to throw it away.
I understand that, but one USB stick will hold more then all your floppies combined. The reality of the situation is you are using an obsolete technology to store information, any that is a bad idea. It makes things much more difficult when things do go wrong, as you are seeing right now. I would get your information off the floppies and put them on a 4 gig usb stick or just store them on your computer and they will be backed up with whatever you use for a backup solution.
thunderdome is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 06:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can't get floppy disk drive to work.

I understand that, but one USB stick will hold more then all your floppies combined. The reality of the situation is you are using an obsolete technology to store information, any that is a bad idea. It makes things much more difficult when things do go wrong, as you are seeing right now. I would get your information off the floppies and put them on a 4 gig usb stick or just store them on your computer and they will be backed up with whatever you use for a backup solution.

I understand you logic and I agree that it is probably true in all aspects, I won't argue with it. I just want the floppy to work so that I can use the disks. Is it the best thing to do, probably not. And thanks for the link
__________________

kemperhills is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my PSU the reason my floppy drive and F/P NEVER work? patrickc284 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-27-2006 08:58 PM
Floppy disk drive problem sick_unit Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 11-21-2005 04:19 AM
Floppy Disk Drive Problem V-tek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-23-2005 01:35 AM
Floppy disk drive trouble! ire.simo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-02-2005 07:35 AM
Floppy disk drive won't work orangeman Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 12-10-2003 11:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.