Can't get 1680 by 1050 resolution - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2009, 03:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 373
Default Can't get 1680 by 1050 resolution

OK, so we have a Dell 22" Monitor that we are trying to use on our older Dell system. The monitor states it has a 1680 by 1050 resolution.

The monitor obviously works with the system as I am using it right now. However, when I go Start, Control panel, change display settings, there is no option for 1680 by 1050. The closest reolutions are 1600 by 1200 or 1600 by 1000.

In addtion, if I try to use 1600 by 1200 resolution, it does not work. The screen goes black with a message across the front saying "Analog Input: Cannot Display This Video....Optimum Resolution 1680 by 1050 60 Hz". Then after about 30 seconds, the XP screen just comes back on.......

Apparently, the video card I have is NVIDIA GeForce 4MX 440 w/APG 8X. It says memory for video card is 64 MB? Plug and Play.....

Additional Info: 768 MB of memory, 40 GB HD, Windows XP, Dell Desktop Pentium 4.


So what do I need to do exactly? Can I use this monitor at its native resolution? Is the video card too outdated? Do I need to download a driver or something? Any help, instructions, or links to what to do would be very much appreciated. Thanks.....
__________________

bagelred is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default Re: Can't get 1680 by 1050 resolution

Does the driver say Microsoft? If so download the nivida specific driver. If the resolution still doesn't work you need to upgrade your video card.

Here is the latest driver: ForceWare Windows XP/2000 32-bit

A cheap little card like this would work great. Newegg.com - VisionTek 900128 Radeon X1050 256MB GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 04:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Can't get 1680 by 1050 resolution

Your card probably can't support the resolution. Make sure drivers are up do date like FlashDude said, and see. I'd say its the card thats the problem though.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Can't get 1680 by 1050 resolution

there was some software i recall using a long time ago to get around some resolution choice problems, i think it was called Powerstrip. it also allowed GPU overclocking.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 373
Default Re: Can't get 1680 by 1050 resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlashDude View Post
Does the driver say Microsoft? If so download the nivida specific driver. If the resolution still doesn't work you need to upgrade your video card.

Here is the latest driver: ForceWare Windows XP/2000 32-bit

A cheap little card like this would work great. Newegg.com - VisionTek 900128 Radeon X1050 256MB GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Does driver say Microsoft? Um...where? I just tried to look up system specs and told me that computer had that NVIDIA video card. I don't think the video card is replaceable in this desktop....I could be wrong.

I'll download the driver, but is there a chance it could mess something up instead?

Thanks for help guys.
bagelred is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 01:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Can't get 1680 by 1050 resolution

Unless its integrated video, then the card should be replaceable.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen Resolution changes bagelred Microsoft Windows and Software 6 01-01-2009 05:37 AM
1680 x 1050 - Xfire or SLI worth it? Mikepsyche New Systems | Building and Buying 21 12-13-2008 07:19 PM
Windows vista resolution troubles murdocsvan Microsoft Windows and Software 1 09-18-2008 09:10 PM
Screen Resolution Dempoi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-17-2008 01:25 PM
1680 x 1050? murdocsvan Microsoft XBox 3 12-20-2007 11:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.