Can't figure this out...tried for months! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2006, 11:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Tonyiomatic Send a message via Yahoo to Tonyiomatic
Unhappy Can't figure this out...tried for months!

This is getting on my nerves...Microsoft flight simulator 2004:a century of flight will shut down when I start it up. Is this common among the users of it or is this a hardware problem? I have 512 Ram.Which it worked for 2 months fine, VERY SMOOTH AND CRYSTAL CLEAR! That another reason why I want this fixed because Its such a well designed simulator. I have a Pentium 4 with hyperthreading, 128 ATI mobility radeon x600 which all does fine. Its a windows Xp home edition. HP PAVILION zd8000 model. Microsoft shows help on this but their site is so poor in design that i used the contact technical support and those people didnt speak english and they wouldnt even respond for days and days. Im about ready to cry over this because ive tried everything that i know of and more! HELP ME PLEASE!!!
__________________

Tonyiomatic is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

If it was working before then something you changed in your system is causing the problem. Do you get any error message of any sort?
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Tonyiomatic Send a message via Yahoo to Tonyiomatic
Default

There is no error message it just comes up like regular...shows the load screen (its just the cover image on the case of the game.) and then when its done loading it goes black for 1 second then just disappears without a trace and im back on my windows xp desktop screen, its like i never used it.
Tonyiomatic is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Uhm. Maybe something wrong with your DirectX? It's never a bad idea to reinstall the latest version. Also, have you tried simply reinstalling the game? It's four CDs, so try DirectX first.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Tonyiomatic Send a message via Yahoo to Tonyiomatic
Default

tried the games...lol let me try directx...
Tonyiomatic is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 12:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Tonyiomatic Send a message via Yahoo to Tonyiomatic
Default

Well, I had given up, its been months and I have been working on it, no luck, I downloaded everything I could find to fix it but nothing is working, its loading the "Splash" screen, going black, then going back to my desktop like I never ran the simulator. No error messages or anything. There is a complete troubleshooter for this on Microsofts website, but none of their stuff helps! Microsoft is starting to burn my buns, I think I might start buying products from someone else since half their crap seems to work like something from the medieval ages.
Tonyiomatic is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 01:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

may sound stupid, byt have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling?

and what about reinstalling windows?

^^^ that might just do it too.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 01:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

try killing some of your background apps, next time you load a game. You only have 512 of ram. and if you have XP; it's already a memory hog, then add a resourse heavy game on top of it, it may not be able to handle it.

adding memory is always a good thing, so you may want to possibly give that a shot, as well...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 02:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Tonyiomatic Send a message via Yahoo to Tonyiomatic
Default

Tried reinstalling 6 or 7 times already, and it ran fine for a couple months really smoothly before this just started happening. I could try getting another gig of ram though, I was going to anyway.
Tonyiomatic is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 02:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

you could always reload your system and start from scratch... if it still happens then you definately know it's soemthing in hardware, and not software.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.