Cant enter BIOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2007, 05:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Red face Cant enter BIOS

yesterday i installed os XP in my PC ,now a strange thing has cropped up,my Pc wont boot without inserting Winxp CD in the CD Rom.without it it wont boot come what may.....i wish to do the needful by doing necessary changes in the BIOS..but phut...i cant enter BIOS.i have tried by pressing DEL...F2 but no use...the pc is working ok but not without the WINXP CD ..please help me out....
__________________

pradip k pande is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 08:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Cant enter BIOS

did you install XP on the pc or are you just running it off the cd?
try and doing a new install of it on your pc.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 08:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Cant enter BIOS

sir
The problem is that of entering the BIOS...i think i have installed the OS ..let me know how i can find out whether it(OS) has been installed or .. i am running it off the CD..let me also know how i can enter BIOS.
pradip k pande is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 09:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Cant enter BIOS

Thread closed. Do not double post.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Toshiba Satellite a215-s4757 bios help Sargon Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-05-2009 01:40 AM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
BIOS Virus!!!! Robrein Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 08-23-2007 05:48 PM
Simple Laptop BIOS MonkeyBusiness Overclocking and Modding 4 06-16-2007 02:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.