Can't change resolution, help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2008, 05:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 33
Default Can't change resolution, help!!!

I recently built a new pc with a geforce 8800gt. Everything was working great but then I installed the drivers for the 8800gt, restarted and the display had reverted to 800x600 resolution with 256 colors and was locked so I couldn't change anything. I tried updating all the drivers for my monitor and everything but it still would not allow me to change the settings. I decided to uninstall the drivers and restart and it allowed me to change to the resolution normally but then I downloaded the latest drivers, installed and it was still locked in 800x600 again when I restarted.

WTF. Anyone have a solution?
__________________

invisible_wall is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 06:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Can't change resolution, help!!!

Have you checked in the manual if there is any settings that need to be changed in the BIOS, I had this Gigabyte Mobo having a similar issue, then I had to change the AGP setting in the BIOS then I was able to change the resolution.
__________________

webpro2k is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 06:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 33
Default Re: Can't change resolution, help!!!

Nope, doesn't say anything about that. Could I have messed up somewhere during the pc building process?
invisible_wall is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 01:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Can't change resolution, help!!!

Hello,

First download Driver Cleaner Pro.

Driver Cleaner Professional download from Guru3D.com

Install it and remove all drivers for your current and old video card. Then reinstall the new video drivers after a reboot.

That should resolve this issue.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolution problems with 8800GTX radovitch Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-17-2008 07:21 AM
3000 High Resolution Wallpapers Osiris Web Graphics and Design 6 07-09-2007 02:53 AM
My LCD TV keeps changing resolution th3120ck Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 06-05-2007 08:26 PM
Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI regeisle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-16-2007 09:37 AM
Resolution change for fullscreen video? Broom Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-01-2007 12:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.