Can't boot from SSD but old HDD, why? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2015, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Angry Can't boot from SSD but old HDD, why?

Hey guys. I recently got a Corsair 750D case yesterday at last and moved over everything to the new case. After many hours, I booted up the PC and it keep on restarting over and over trying to go to the login screen. I tried getting to safe mode in Windows 8.1 but F8 is not existed. What I did try however is move over my SATA cable to a different port. I checked BIOS and it doesn't detect the SSD but somehow booting up my old Seagate 1TB HDD OS version. I can see both HDD and SSD are primary (in Safe Mode, btw):



Here is a link to the official ASUS forums of a guy with similar problems as me with the SATA ports:

crosshair v formula z asmedia 106 sata controller

I hope to figure this problem out today. This shouldn't be happening. I will try moving over SATA ports next and unplugging my old HDD too. Here is my new setup in case ur wondering:




UPDATE:

(Idk why I make threads n then fix them quickly) SOooooo...i switched my SSD and one of my drives and unplugged my old HDD and it worked! Sorry for making a thread like this.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Can't boot from SSD but old HDD, why?

What SATA mode is your BIOS set to? Did it get reset to a different mode (AHCI vs RAID vs Legacy)? Is UEFI enabled?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Can't boot from SSD but old HDD, why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
What SATA mode is your BIOS set to? Did it get reset to a different mode (AHCI vs RAID vs Legacy)? Is UEFI enabled?
UEFI is enabled. SATA mode is still AHCI for all. Idk it was just weird that this happened.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD, 500 GB HDD & 250 GB HDD setup mwwwilson System Upgrades 6 12-14-2013 02:58 PM
Good SSD and bad HDD vs one good HDD Geoman37 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-30-2013 04:37 PM
HDD to SSD migration: mirror or clone HDD or reinstall everything fresh hyongx New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-29-2011 05:16 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
Can read/write HDD, but can't boot hoserinaz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-25-2004 09:04 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.