Can't boot from My xp cd? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Default Can't boot from My xp cd?

Well i built my comp myself and had no probs booting from the cd when the option came up to hit any key to install. 2months later now I want to do reformat to perform some maintenence. I have the cd drive has the first boot devide but when the option comes up to boot from CD with any key it wont do anythin just runs through that option and then just boot up windows normally. Ive never had this rpb before and im wondering what i could be doing wrong. Ive installed xp gods know how many tiems before and this has never happened. btw i restored all the defaults and set back all the earlier options to default before it was oced. Thanks for help
__________________

hednik is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You need to format first, doesn't it give you this option first? If not format on a friends computer, just make sure he has a good PSU ()
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Default

Hrmm k a little confused. i usually just format from the windows install screen when i do a reinstall. Is this not the correct way?
hednik is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

you got a usb keyboard? if so you might need to enable usb keyboard/mouse support in bios in order to use it outside of windows.. (and naturally youll need a standard ps2 keyboard to do so)
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Tbh. I can not remember, I have not once put any thought into formatting/installing windows as it is so boring, and I haven't installed windows on a PC in nearly a year (apart from on new hdd.)

If you format the drive on another PC then it can't boot into windows.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Default

you got a usb keyboard? if so you might need to enable usb keyboard/mouse support in bios in order to use it outside of windows.. (and naturally youll need a standard ps2 keyboard to do so)

lol, the easiest soluition and i didnt even think of it. Thanks a ton, ill have to bust out the ole ps2 keyboard hehe.
hednik is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 08:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
css
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

if none of that works go into bios and make the cd rom drive boot first.
__________________

css is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.