Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2014, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Hey guys,
I've tried everything I can think of so help will be appreciated.
This is my bro in laws laptop.
He reported that he couldn't boot into windows.
So when I tested it out, it got stuck in 2 different spots
The Starting windows screen right after the bios and once it actually got into the log in screen but froze right there.
So I ran all the hp tests and they all passed.
I did a power cycle (took the battery out, flipped it over, held power for 40 secs but still nothing)
Can't boot into safe mode.
Tried ram sticks individually and in additional spots.
So i wanted to try and run the win 7 repair, tried booting from the windows cd and it again gets stuck on the starting windows 7 screen.
I thought maybe the hdd is bad so I unplugged the hdd and tried booting off the cd and still it won't get past the windows 7 screen.
What's going on here?
Mb failing?
Did I forget to try something obvious?
Help will be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 11:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Try resting RAM with Memtest from www.memtest.org

You could try booting off of a Linux LiveCD as well to see if it starts up without issue.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 09:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Try resting RAM with Memtest from www.memtest.org

You could try booting off of a Linux LiveCD as well to see if it starts up without issue.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
I'll try Memtest and the LiveCD later today.
If it still doesn't work do you think the mobo is failing.
I find it strange how it won't boot to the windows CD even after I unplug the HDD...
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 10:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
I'll try Memtest and the LiveCD later today.
If it still doesn't work do you think the mobo is failing.
I find it strange how it won't boot to the windows CD even after I unplug the HDD...
Well it's definitely some kind of hardware issue - whether it's RAM or something else has yet to be determined.

If Memtest passes, it's possible that using the LiveCD may shed some light during bootup in the log messages that scroll across the screen.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 10:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Try disconnecting the Samsung SSD and run a diagnostic test from WD on the WD drive.
WD Support / Downloads / SATA & SAS / WD VelociRaptor
Use the DOS method to get a more accurate test
You should disconnect the WD 2TB drive before you start installing windows because windows will install the boot loader onto the 2TB drive instead of the Samsung SSD. Your boot file should be on the SSD drive, Check your bios to be sure AHCI is enabled too
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 10:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
Try disconnecting the Samsung SSD and run a diagnostic test from WD on the WD drive.
WD Support / Downloads / SATA & SAS / WD VelociRaptor
Use the DOS method to get a more accurate test
You should disconnect the WD 2TB drive before you start installing windows because windows will install the boot loader onto the 2TB drive instead of the Samsung SSD. Your boot file should be on the SSD drive, Check your bios to be sure AHCI is enabled too
I think you read his specs from his sig lol. That's not the system in question.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 06:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Damn...that's one big sig.... oh well...
I don't think it'll load windows without a drive, it'll boot up the the install screen and start unloading the cab files but will probably stop when it can't find the drive. Have you tested this drive from (who ever's drive it is) from the software from the drive's manufacture to check the health status? I know you stated you checked it with the HP diagnostics but that might be in error
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 07:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
Damn...that's one big sig.... oh well...
I don't think it'll load windows without a drive, it'll boot up the the install screen and start unloading the cab files but will probably stop when it can't find the drive. Have you tested this drive from (who ever's drive it is) from the software from the drive's manufacture to check the health status? I know you stated you checked it with the HP diagnostics but that might be in error
He can't even fully boot up the install CD, with out without the HDD installed.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 07:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
Hey guys,
I've tried everything I can think of so help will be appreciated.
This is my bro in laws laptop.
He reported that he couldn't boot into windows.
So when I tested it out, it got stuck in 2 different spots
The Starting windows screen right after the bios and once it actually got into the log in screen but froze right there.
So I ran all the hp tests and they all passed.
I did a power cycle (took the battery out, flipped it over, held power for 40 secs but still nothing)
Can't boot into safe mode.
Tried ram sticks individually and in additional spots.
So i wanted to try and run the win 7 repair, tried booting from the windows cd and it again gets stuck on the starting windows 7 screen.
I thought maybe the hdd is bad so I unplugged the hdd and tried booting off the cd and still it won't get past the windows 7 screen.
What's going on here?
Mb failing?
Did I forget to try something obvious?
Help will be appreciated.
Let me ask you somethings.

#1 what version of windows 7 are you using also is it oem version or retail ?

#2 if your using a iso did you download this from microsoft store ?
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ISO Download? - Microsoft Community

#3 if your using a dvd which brand is it and what type of dvd is it ?

Honestly it may have something to do with the installation cd contents or where you downloaded it from.
Just to be sure install windows vista 32bit as a test installation.
Vista-32bit-SP1
If that succeeds and works then your windows 7 cd or sources maybe messed up.
Check and see and use a ms download link and use windows 7 cd/dvdusb tool.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 09:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Can't boot into Windows 7 HP dv6t-6100

The OP needs to post more specs, like brand name, complete model number and which operating system did it have previously
If it had Windows 8 previously then some bios changes are in order. Laptop ODD's are notorious for high failure, even the disk might be dirty or scratched
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have an onboard Nvidia 6100? JamezKangster Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 08-28-2006 04:48 AM
Nvidia Geforce 6100 integrated kuqdew PC Gaming 1 08-25-2006 01:30 PM
amd3800 dual core + nvidia geforce 6100 faith4 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-08-2006 04:26 PM
Used Biostar 6100-M9 underworld288 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 06-24-2006 10:41 PM
intergrated GFX 6100 fr34ky PC Gaming 10 01-27-2006 09:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.