Can't Boot from CD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2007, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default Can't Boot from CD

I'm trying to install windows xp pro on a computer that I put together from some spare and new parts. When I try to boot from CD i hit any key then I get a disk read error hit ctrl alt delete.

I've tried using different CD drives. I even tried using my copy of vista instead of xp and I don't even get the boot from CD message with it.

Could something be wrong with my hardware? The hard drive and ram is brand new. The motherboard and CPU worked fine less then a month ago. I tried my previous optical drives and a new one. The video card is old but worked 2 weeks ago.

Any suggestions for ideas?

Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Can't Boot from CD

Originally Posted by sayaprayer View Post
I've tried using different CD drives. I even tried using my ""copy"" of vista instead of xp and I don't even get the boot from CD message with it.
careful what ur saying!i! i dont think thats allowed

-anyway in the BIOS does it recognize the drive(s)?
-do u have the jumpers on right (master/slave)?

P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 05:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Can't Boot from CD

You could try to go into bios and set the CD drive to be the first boot divice and if you still have trouble try to disable the hard drive with cd as first boot and when it done installing and restarting gointo bios and enable the hard drive again.I've had to do it that way with older motherboards.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.