Can't access directories in hdd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2016, 02:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default Can't access directories in hdd

So, like a month ago I was on my laptop to transfer some files. However, it suddenly just blue-screened. I couldn't be bothered fixing it because i don't use that laptop often. Today, I tried to transfer all the files i needed to my pc by connecting it to the sata port, it worked and it opened in explorer. However, the 'Users' and 'Program Files (x86)' folder was missing, also I couldn't access the 'Program Files' folder and the 'windows' folder with the error message: 'D:\Windows is not accessible.

The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable.'

Any help? Is the drive dead? Can I recover all my files ?
__________________

__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Can't access directories in hdd

Try booting off of a Linux LiveCD (such as Ubuntu) and copy the files off that way. Linux is a lot more forgiving on accessing drives with issues than Windows is.

Last month I had to recover data off of one of my HDD's with all of my music and some hard-to-find 8bit games and Windows wouldn't read any of the partitions. Booted into Linux and was able to backup all of my music as well as the few games I wanted (that weren't corrupted). And just a few weeks ago I had to do something similar with my primary HDD (replaced with SSD). Bad sectors a bitch, man.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default Re: Can't access directories in hdd

Ok, so I tried mounting it in read only with ubuntu. However, when I tried to access the drive it said:'Sorry, could not display all the contents of “backup”: Error when getting information for file '/media/backup/MSOCache': Input/output error'
__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 04:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Can't access directories in hdd

Ok, new plan. Use Testdisk (should be included on PartedMagic and UBCD LiveCD's):
TestDisk Step By Step - CGSecurity

Perform the steps listed there up to "Quick Search for partitions". On this step when it says to list files...do so. On the List Files screen, you should have options to mark files/directories to be copied, and then copy them to a different storage device.

TestDisk is what I had to use to recover some of the files off of the partition with bad sectors (PartedMagic's file explorer wouldn't mount the partition because of I/O errors like you're receiving).

Also, is there any reason you need to recover files from "Program Files", "Program Files (x86)" or "Windows"? Would just the "Users" directory be sufficient for you to recover any data?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't see or access Network or Printers! Can still access Internet ??? Katmandu Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 01-19-2010 01:36 PM
Can I submit the URL to different directories Dealunion SEO and Web Traffic 5 06-29-2006 01:19 PM
password protect directories soundgarden Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-02-2004 08:40 PM
changing directories in command prompt grapeape Microsoft Windows and Software 7 08-23-2003 01:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.