Cant access CD DRIVES - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2009, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default Cant access CD DRIVES

this is a computer i have been having problems with for last month.

I have

1 cdr/rw drive
1 dvd drive they are both on 1 IDE cable

im running Window XP
this is a daily used computer since 2004 but but havent need to use the CD Drives in long time.

when I boot the computer during boot it list both properly

when windows is fully loaded and i go to the device manager they are properly identified with (!) on them.

when I go to my computer all I see are my hard disk and floppy disk listed there.

Both drives are power and I check cables they are fine I, I also switched the CD Drive to the IDE1 connection that didnt work neither.

do have a disk that came with one of the CD Drives but I still can access the CD Drive to use it.

thanks for any help

Kibble is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
oldskool's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Cant access CD DRIVES

Check your jumper settings ?

oldskool is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 12:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Cant access CD DRIVES

yes the jumpers are correct

ok this is an all the sudden problem the jumpers havent been moved in years.

In the xp device manager the CD ROM DISK are listed with (!) marks on them

when the computer boots that are also listed on the boot screen that flashes by correctly.

I have pulled both CD Drives out and they work just fine in another computer.
Kibble is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 04:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
oldskool's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Cant access CD DRIVES

Ok, I missed that part about them being ok since bad.

Maybe your drivers have been corrupted, you could try reinstalling the drivers.
oldskool is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 07:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Cant access CD DRIVES

Have you recently uninstalled any Burning Software like "Nero"? You could try this.
Download Nero Clean Tool Bundle 1.0 - The Driver-CleanTool will deactivate drivers that caused problems in Nero in the past - Softpedia

OR TRY THIS - Usually fixes this problem

In Windows XP and Vista based computers some times the High and Low filters get damaged in the registry. If the drive is still good and you had not had any issues with it not reading disks then the filter settings may be your problem. Try this:

Close all open programs

Click on Start

Click Run

Type REGEDIT and press Enter

note: Vista doesn't come with the run command enabled so just type REGEDIT in the search bar above Start..

Click on the plus signs (+) next to the following folders to open them.






(looks like same file name for XP and Vista?)

This folder is the DVD/CD-ROM Drive Class Description in the registry. Look for any of the following names in the right hand column.


If you see any of the above keys, right-click on each of them and choose Delete

Close the Registry Editor

Reboot your computer

Click Start

Open My Computer and check to see if your CD or DVD drive shows now.

Open the device manager for your version of Windows and make sure the Rom Drive is showing and that it is not showing an exclamation mark. If you still do not see the Rom drive then your drive may be defective. Note: you might have to reinstall some of your CD or DVD playing/burning software.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 11:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Cant access CD DRIVES

ok thanks for responces. the problem was somthing happen when i was trying to burn som picture to a cd rom. with nero.

after lots of fix searching i found a quick fix on the microsoft website. I dont know what it did but they are active now and working.

Kibble is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DBD::mysql Perl module install CrazeD Linux and Open Source 4 02-28-2009 04:37 PM
Want to block internet access, not networked drives to laptop Boma Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 12-11-2008 02:15 PM
Ultra ATA/133 card not showing Optical drives in BIOS Rastafari Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-02-2008 11:46 AM
BIOS stopped detecting hard drives YoBagonGo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2007 10:42 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 01:14 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.