Cannot install Win2k on clean IDE harddrive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2008, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Exclamation Cannot install Win2k on clean IDE harddrive

Hardware:
Pentium 4 3.2Ghz
80GB Western Digital EIDE HD


I'm trying to install Win2k on this 80GB IDE Drive. It loads up into the setup, "sets up" all the drivers and then it BSOD's on me I know the install CD is right because I've used it on a few other machines today.

Any ideas here? I've tried everything from playing around with the jumpers and to switching IDE cables!

Here's the setup. This harddrive, with no jumper setting, is connected to the primary EIDE socket and the secondary IDE socket is the two DVD Burners. The win2k cd is in one of the 2 dvd burners and I'm trying to install into the harddrive.

Any ideas/help would be so appreciated!

Aside: Sometimes it won't recognize the HD at all and go NTLDR is missing. I wouldn't expect this error for a formatted harddrive :S
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Cannot install Win2k on clean IDE harddrive

Make sure the boot order and master/slave assignment is right in the BIOS. One thing I hate about IDE--I used to mix that stuff up all the time.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 05:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Cannot install Win2k on clean IDE harddrive

Sounds like a possible bad drive to me. Run some diagnostics on the drive, run memtest too just to rule out any RAM issues. And I would think you would want the jumpers set to cable select if you only have one hard drive. Some may not agree with me on that. But I have found sometimes if you don't have a slave you get errors with a master.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with XP Clean Install marconis Microsoft Windows and Software 42 04-01-2008 07:49 PM
Does Ubuntu install the MBR to IDE drives by default? Jayce Linux and Open Source 4 03-19-2008 12:54 AM
Slow XP responsiveness/freezes after Clean Install agentnibbles Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-09-2007 05:50 PM
Windows xp pro clean install poetry8 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 11-20-2007 12:49 PM
clean graphics install krazyq New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-16-2007 12:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.