Cannot get my mic to work for the life of me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2010, 12:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Exclamation Cannot get my mic to work for the life of me

I am using windows 7 64bit, just using a creative sound blaster audigy card, onboard audio is disabled. I can hear fine, just cannot get this mic to work on vent or anything at all. it works on my laptop, so I know its not the mic.
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Cannot get my mic to work for the life of me

Is it listed in the recording devices? If it's not, check the "show disabled devices" on the recording devices tab, and see if the mic is enabled. Have you downloaded the drivers from the Creative site, or let Windows install them?
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 03:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Cannot get my mic to work for the life of me

I attached a picture of some settings.. dunno if this helps
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mic.jpg (97.9 KB, 62 views)
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 06-21-2010, 01:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Cannot get my mic to work for the life of me

Fixed it... my mic wasn't plugged into my headset all the way... I have one of those fata1ity headsets with a removable mic. /facepalm. thanks for the help though, appreciate it.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up SMP james.wired Folding @ Home 91 01-13-2010 06:06 PM
The New, Hopefully Bug Free Folding@Home Thread! macdude425 Folding @ Home 928 12-07-2008 07:18 PM
Mic not working in Vista. Any help? Chad711 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-24-2008 12:28 PM
Mic doesn't work on TeamSpeak 2 Matteeee Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 10-17-2008 05:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.