cannot get ethernet controller to install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2007, 12:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 82
Default cannot get ethernet controller to install

Hello yet again. My new system I bought is the worst system I have ever dealt with. Don't know why so many problems.. but here is anorther one I could use some help with.

Short version:

I had a virus fixed it with a windows repair.
After windows repair, I lost my dll cache on a lot of items, internet, ms office, etc. no connectivity.
Installed windows again over the last one and all was well, except I couldn't load ythe driver from the motherboard disc I had for the ethernet controller. Its a gigabyte DS3P Marvell Lan driver. When I tried to install it it said (with wrong spelling mind you) that it didn't support that ID? So no driver, no connectivity.

I don't know what the **** to do, I have loaded windows about 6 times over, been through 3 motherboards. I am thinking possibly since I updated to a new BIOS that maybe for some reason the driver doesn't recognize the ethernet controller. I am at work now getting the latest BIOS and marvell driver on disc so I can load them at home. Could this all be because of that or maybe that my copy of win XP Pro could be corrupt? I have never had these issues before and my XP disc is from the states and I am no longer there adn the disc is 6 years old?... any help would be great.

Cheers,
__________________

NZ-Disciple is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You have install an update on the disc before you can install the drivers.

It should be under INF Update Utility.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 82
Default

Install an update to what?
NZ-Disciple is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 06:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

try http://www.driverguidetoolkit.com/, nifty program auto detects all hardware and download available drivers for them =). Maybe ram problems?
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 08:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 82
Default

This is the first time for this problem so I doubt RAM issues. Was working fine before I got rid of the virus. And it would be a bit difficult to get that program if I can't get online yet. But afterward will give it a go. Thanks
NZ-Disciple is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NZ-Disciple
Install an update to what?
Its an Intel driver update that updates the system files.

You can see in the chart that you'll need it.
http://www.intel.com/support/chipset.../CS-009270.htm
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.