Cannot connect to the internet - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2009, 09:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Cannot connect to the internet

I think you've hit the nail on the head, sounds like your NIC drivers might be in need of an update/reinstall. Either that or the actual hardware might be damaged.
Either that OR the cable might be bad. Like I said before, try swapping the cable out for a new one as well.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 06-29-2009, 09:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default

Ok i'm gonna try Uninstall the driver then reinstall new nvidia drivers. If that doesn't work then yeh i'm guessing that my hardware is damaged cause i have tried numerous ethernet cables.THNX : )

Unfortunetly that didnt work : (
__________________

osborne3 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 01:19 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Cannot connect to the internet

Well when you get an ip address of 169.x.x.x that means you are not connecting to your router.

Does your nic show up in device manager?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 03:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: Cannot connect to the internet

Yes both my ethernet ports appear in device manager they are built into the MOBO i'm starting to think that they have gone bad though : (
I'm thinking of buying a PCI NIC and installing that if that doesn't work then i will be forced to reinstall windows and see if that works.
osborne3 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 04:20 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Cannot connect to the internet

are they setup to obtain ip automatically?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 10:43 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: Cannot connect to the internet

Yeh i think so
osborne3 is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 03:59 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: Cannot connect to the internet

I would try removing the NIC from Device Manager, then reboot, allowing Windows to 'pick' the most appropriate driver. If that doesn\t work, You have probably a 95% certainty that it is hardware related. Hope this helps.
MundoDragon is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 05:59 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: Cannot connect to the internet

OK thank you i will give that a go when i get back to my dads THNX : )
osborne3 is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 09:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 22
Default Re: Cannot connect to the internet

I've seen where windows will assign a 169.xxx.xxx.xxx IP address. its an autoconfiguration ip. it happened on my dads laptop and i just had to update the drivers and release and renew the IP a few times along with setting a manual IP to get the internet working in the first place. also try to Ping your routers IP and see if you can get a reply.
Ab0mbs is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 10:06 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Cannot connect to the internet

^he's already done that, bar updating drivers (which he just said he would do). Read through the thread before you post, so you're not just repeating what everyone else has already said.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
WIN32/vMALUM.fexg VIRUS Kimcoco HijackThis Logs (finished) 10 04-20-2009 05:28 PM
Uninstall Internet Explorer 8 Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 23 09-09-2008 11:33 PM
So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet... GRYT7 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 10 05-28-2007 12:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.