Cannot boot from CDrom - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2010, 03:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
Default Cannot boot from CDrom

I have an old Dell Dimension 5500 desktop. I have been trying to reformat the HD and install a fresh OS. I went through the steps and got to the reformat stage. Once the HD was reformatted and it started w/ the install. I got an error message saying, "install could not be complete. So, I thought maybe the disc was corrupted and tried the Original OS disc that came w/ the computer. Now when I start the the computer and have it boot from the CD/DVD rom an error message comes up and says "error reading disc" and freezes up. I put the disc in another computer and it works fine. SO I thought maybe the CD rom drive was bad, used an external CD rom and still get the same error message.

ANy ideas?
__________________

lilchris357 is offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 10:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Cannot boot from CDrom

The computer doesn't like CDs?

Try resetting BIOS, see if anything changes.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 01:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
Default Re: Cannot boot from CDrom

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
The computer doesn't like CDs?

Try resetting BIOS, see if anything changes.
I tried resetting the bios? Nothing is changing. Can I replace the HD? I looked up the original one that is came w/ the unit. Not sure what I can replace it w/. What would some suggestions for a replacement HD?
lilchris357 is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 09:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Cannot boot from CDrom

WD FTW!!! What capacity HDD do you need??
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
Default Re: Cannot boot from CDrom

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
WD FTW!!! What capacity HDD do you need??
What is FTW???? Anything that is compatible. I am new to this computer thing (replacing and upgrading parts.) I wasn't sure if I could go out and just pick up a new hard drive and pop it in and it would work. I wanted to make sure that it would be compatible w/ the type of desktop that i have, since its so old.
The one that is in now is a Maxtor 6L040J2 and it has long been discontinued. So I was wondering if I had to go w/ that type. I'm sure there is a suitable replacement. Just not sure which one.
lilchris357 is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 03:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Cannot boot from CDrom

That Hard Drive is a "IDE" hard drive so you'll need to buy another "IDE" hard drive. It doesn't have to be a Maxtor though, any manufacturer should do. How much can you spend?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 04:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
Default Re: Cannot boot from CDrom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
That Hard Drive is a "IDE" hard drive so you'll need to buy another "IDE" hard drive. It doesn't have to be a Maxtor though, any manufacturer should do. How much can you spend?
What is IDE? Just for future knowledge. I can spend up to $100. Before I go out and buy another one though, is there any troubleshooting steps I can take to make sure the HD has crapped out?
lilchris357 is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 05:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Cannot boot from CDrom

FTW= For The Win

IDE is the interface of your HDD. The newest technology is SATA.

You can run diagnostics from a CD, provided with your HDD's manufacturer.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 06:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
Default Re: Cannot boot from CDrom

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
FTW= For The Win

IDE is the interface of your HDD. The newest technology is SATA.

I am sure all of the HDD that are available now is using SATA,correct? Can I use those and if so, I am guessing that I will have to change out cables.


You can run diagnostics from a CD, provided with your HDD's manufacturer.
That's my issue. I can't get anything to boot from any of the optical drives. I can hear them spin up but then nothing. So I wait and then the error screen comes up saying "error loading OS", That is why I made the comment earlier about T/S the HDD.
I even tried using a External optical drive and the same thing happens.
__________________

lilchris357 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freakin A can't get pc to boot off cdrom thirdshiftdj Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-27-2007 10:05 PM
IDE help/CdRom help Org System Upgrades 1 09-23-2006 10:46 PM
Cdrom problem please nid help here. . . stichjc84 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 05-29-2005 07:25 AM
cdrom rgray Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-07-2005 04:50 AM
cdrom rushman Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 07-07-2004 11:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.