Cannot apply firmware - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2006, 10:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IBMan
The faceplate changing means nothing, OS's can use similar or the same driver for 2 different devices, to be safe...check the model number on the physical hardware.
yes, but the devices are not necessarily exactly the same.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i know, 2 different devices can have the same model number. But it would probably be more accurate if you looked at the label on the device, that would most likely be more accurate, if you wanted to go even further, you could open it up to look at the main board and chipsets to get more detail
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 05:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
rjw
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Default

ok, today I put an end to all of this foolishness. I sent back the ASUS or whatever it is to NewEgg for a refund. I popped into one of our local computer shops and picked up a Liteon for $28. I installed it, saw that a firmware update was available, installed that, and now I'm burning cd's as fast as I can load the tray. Nirvana once again!
rjw is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 08:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Default

New Egg while having great prices is not always the most reliable I find, I had previously purchased a DVD burner from their website, and it went bad within a month, which is odd since I take very good care of my machines, I had to send it back and finally just buy a mid quality dvd burner from retail.
__________________

Point Break is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.