Can Windows prevent POST? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2007, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default Can Windows prevent POST?

I have the following specs (recently installed)

Intel E6420
Gigabyte P35-DS3R
2x1 GB Crucial Ballsitix
Windows Vista Ultimate (32-bit)

When my computer goes into sleep, it does not resume. The lights come on, but my monitor stays asleep (no signal). If i manually power down and restart, Windows doesn't POST although I see lights and hear harddrives.

If I clear my CMOS, it works just fine. After some googling it appears Vista has some problems coming out of hibernation. But why wouldn't it post?
__________________

__________________
"To err is human - and to blame it on a computer is even more so." - Robert Orben
bengance is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Can Windows prevent POST?

First of all windows reguardless of the OS Version, has nothing to do with POST or clearing the CMOS.

POST, power on self test, is done by the BIOS.

Who knows why it won't POST correctly in such situation.
Try flashing the BIOS. If it continues, update VISTA, if it continues, don't use hibernation/sleep.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default Re: Can Windows prevent POST?

Quote:
First of all windows reguardless of the OS Version, has nothing to do with POST or clearing the CMOS.
Yeah, I was pretty sure of that too. But I couldn't figure out why it POSTs fine 100% of the time from a powered off mode but not from a standby mode. I'm guessing it has more to do with the board settings in standby and the CMOS just clears some cache and it acts as a powered off start.

Quote:
Try flashing the BIOS. If it continues, update VISTA, if it continues, don't use hibernation/sleep.
Well, I have the 1.0 board with the current F4 bios. I would really like to use standby as I use this a lot for recording TV, which can awaken a computer when not in use. I'll try going through Gigabyte for assistance.
bengance is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Windows Installation Problem ksmarks Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-07-2007 04:06 PM
URGENT HELP! Post Windows Install Keeps Deleting My Partitions datahead Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-12-2007 09:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.