can turn on pc, but wont boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2006, 12:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default can turn on pc, but wont boot

Hi,
my daughters PC is having a bit of trouble, I'm not to sure as to what she did [says she didnt do anything ]

So heres the problem, I can press the power button, and the PSU, system fans and cpu fan all start up and work fine, but the computer does not boot up. It seems that the hard drive, DVD drive and graphics arn't engaged, no info comes up on the screen, and monitor switches off after awhile as its getting no signal.

anyone any info on what is happening, is the mobo dead, is the cpu dead?

thankyou,
steve
__________________

steveblue is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

try any of these options :
(((GROUND URSELF BEFORE TOUCHING ANYTHING)))
-use a different Power Supply (since that HD, DVD....dont run)
-reseat ur video card and RAM (if that doesnt work use default mobo video)
-if u hav a manual reset the CMOS by pulling out the battery in the mobo for couple minutes, then use that manual to reconfigure the settings (if the PC boots up)
-reassemble everything from barebone (remember to ground urself before touching anything)
-check if there are any beeps when u power it up
-check if the compacitors ar poping up in the mobo(if so replace them or get a new mobo)
-check if the heatsink is properly seated
-boot with only the CPU(fan&heatsink), PS, RAM, monitor plugged in the rest leave it unplugged
-might be dead BIOS, flash it or use hotflashing or agent smith's in stickies. (Software)
-might be bad grounding try a different power cable
- if u OC ur PC put the setting to default
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

So it was working before? And if so, has anything significant happened, like moving the PC, adding new hardware etc...?

Can you hear the hard drive seeking and reading data?


:EDIT:

sylwek said it all .
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 01:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

it was working grand before, she turn it off to goto her grandmothers, and later I went in to update the anti-virus elc, switched on the pc, and nothing happened.

the dvd drive, will not work at all, cant open it at all.

the motherboard has made no nosie, no beeps ....elc

I think the harddrive has made some seeking noices, it felt like it was seeking to.

my daughter has a habit of leaving the pc on , could this have an effect, may be on the PSU

the pc is only 8 months old
steveblue is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 03:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default

i had the same problem, all i had to do was update vid card drivers. the place charged 130$ ... ><
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 03:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

sounds lik the PS is fried
try borrowing one of a friend or somethin and if still doesnt boot that means its a different problem

since u said that ur daughter likes leaving the computer on this may mean that ur computer overheated and ur capacitors may be poped up or even burst open
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 03:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sylwek

since u said that ur daughter likes leaving the computer on this may mean that ur computer overheated and ur capacitors may be poped up or even burst open
is this the capacitors on the PSU or the mobo?
steveblue is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 11:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

usually its the mobo but it never hurts to check the PS
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 05:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea could be the ps, or a bad processor, but a non opening cd drive, so its the ps, u can get one off of newegg for like 70 bux, unless the pc is still in warranty
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 05:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thanks, i've tried changing the PS but on luck still the same results. The mobo maker, said that if the systems fans are still working then the mobo is fine and that it is more likely the memory or the processor
__________________

steveblue is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.