Can Mac Ram Go in PC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2010, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16

Hi, someone gave me some ram from their mac that says pc3 8500e on it..not sure what it is, but can it go into my PC? Or is mac ram only for macs.


oh and can someone please answer a subsequent question to this one: can 2 types of ram be mixed? Right now my PC has 8gb of DDR2 ram, and I have 4GB of this PC3 8500e which I THINK is DDR3. Can I use the 4 of DDR3 and 4gb of DDR2 in my pc?

theheresy is offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 02:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
hikaricloud's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Can Mac Ram Go in PC?

Okay, first off, edit your posts instead of posting again.

Secondly, I highly doubt DDR3 will interface with DDR2 unless you have a freak motherboard, and even then I doubt it.

Thirdly, I don't think mac ram will work in a PC anyway. It's technically the same stuff, but I know newegg separates them, so who knows? Regular PC RAM will work in a mac, but I don't know about the other way around.

Which is a moot point since it won't work in your current system anyway.

R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 06:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,052
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Can Mac Ram Go in PC?

1. DDR3 and DDR2 have different physical configurations. Your board WILL NOT physically support both types, only one type will fit.

2. I know some of the older "mac" ram woks fine with PCs, as far as I know the newer stuff should as well but don't quote me on that (however, I'm about 89% sure).
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Question LFCJohnSmith System Upgrades 3 05-20-2009 11:11 AM
RAM Upgrade LFCJohnSmith System Upgrades 4 05-13-2009 05:44 AM
Utilize full power of ram lockheart System Upgrades 1 12-18-2008 01:40 AM
pagefile on a ram disk? White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-17-2008 02:27 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 08:43 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.