Can I use Acronis to back up my Vista and files on an external HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2009, 12:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Can I use Acronis to back up my Vista and files on an external HD

I want to use Acronis and/or Norton Ghost 11 to backup my operating system, files to an exteral hard drive so I can use the same files and operating system on my other computer. Can I boot an external hard drvie via boot from hdd on an newly partitioned HD can; can Acronis or Norton Ghost manage these tasks?

p.s can someone give me the rank link so I'll now when I'm on my way to becoming a virgin techie and so fouth and I can show off my detailed specs...and which program do I use for creating those detailed specs; respect guys and girls=]
__________________

fallenapples is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Can I use Acronis to back up my Vista and files on an external HD

Hello,

You can use software such as Acronis True Image or Disk Director to backup your partition(s) (operation system and personal data files) to another hard drive. However, you can't boot into the backed up operating system on another system, because the backed up operating system won't have the correct drivers installed for the different hardware devices in the new system. It will fail to boot.

Of course, if the second system has exactly the same hardware devices installed, then theoretically it will work. To add, on rare occasions, you can boot into an OS on a hard drive taken from another system, but usually not without complications.

What OS are you using on your first and second systems? Windows Easy Transfer allows you to '...move the files and settings stored on your PC running Windows 2000, Windows XP, or even Windows Vista to a new PC running Windows Vista.' It can't transfer installed programs, but it can transfer program data files. I haven't used it myself, but it's an option.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: Can I use Acronis to back up my Vista and files on an external HD

What if the hard drive is blank? Can I boot from the external hard drive? I have a compaq intel duo core with xp professional x32, a toshiba satillite A300 with Vista Home premium x64 and an eMac with 1 gb of ram. I'd like to transfer files from my HP Pavillon desktop to my Toshiba is this task performable via external hard drive and using Acronis True Image or Norton Ghost which is best for the task I want to perfom?
fallenapples is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 12:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Can I use Acronis to back up my Vista and files on an external HD

Hello,

Unfortunately, it still will not work, as previously described, regardless of whether there is already hard drive in your second system with an existing OS installed (or blank).

As for your second question, Acronis True Image or Norton Ghost are capable copying files, folders or partitions to another hard drive (internal or external). Which program you use is up to you.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HJT Log 2/28 dog111 HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 03-01-2009 10:52 PM
Please Analyse, ethernet controller no longer working...[P] djmaddogfreak HijackThis Logs (finished) 16 07-04-2008 10:05 PM
Windows Vista SP1 Download Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 42 03-22-2008 04:23 AM
The Vista Death Watch EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 112 11-20-2007 12:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.