Can I Use This? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2006, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Question Can I Use This?

I bought this new Video Card and i was wondering on my motherboard its Video Interface is AGP 4x and the video card that i bought is PCI Express x16 and i would like to know if i could use the card on this motherboard and it'll work
__________________

Mxmaisto is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Default

In order to use a PCI-E video card you're going to need a PCI-E x16 slot on your motherboard. If you only have AGP x4 on it, I would suggest you upgrade
__________________

lodfreak is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

No it wont work. You have to get an AGP card or a new motherboard that supports pci-e slots.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Will a 4 lug rim fit on a 5 lug rotor? Same concept.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Ok well then i'm going to send it back then well i've been looking for new ones now ones that i can use but another question. I see some that say AGP 4x/8x but when i scroll down to the system requirements it says AGP 8x slot. For these will it work for the 4x because i don't know if it will if its saying 4x/8x
Mxmaisto is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

You can use an AGP 8x card on a AGP 4x Mobo, except it wont run at the best it can.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 05:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Ok thanks guys for the help
__________________

Mxmaisto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.