Can I test my PSU while it's out of the computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2007, 02:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Default Can I test my PSU while it's out of the computer?

I took my PSU out of the computer. I'm almost convinced my PSU is dead because my computer is totally dead, no fan, no noises, no lights, nothing.....totally quiet.

Is it OK to take voltage readings on the 20 pin mobo connector and the molex connectors with the PSU totally disconnected from everything in the computer?

Do I have to put a jumper on the green and a black pin in the 20 pin mobo connector before I check the voltages? I read this somewhere....not here I don't believe.

I guess my question should be "Can I check my PSU now that I have it disconnected from my computer? If so, how".

Please advise. Thanks guys.
__________________

Burnselk is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

That you can, I'll have to do some research on it, but I'll let you know what I find.

EDIT: All you need is a digital multimeter and a small amount of know how. Here's what I found, if you have any questions, don't forget to ask!

http://www.ochardware.com/articles/psuvolt/psuvolt.html
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Default

Thanks Otis....I will surely ask if I have questions.
Burnselk is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Or you can get any atx psu tester and use that. Just plug the psu into the wall and take the readings. Whether or not it's inside your computer isn't important.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.