Can this be done? (4pin 12v PSU on 8pin 12v Motherboard) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2012, 10:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Can this be done? (4pin 12v PSU on 8pin 12v Motherboard)

Scenarios tried:

Two different 4pins (separately, not together), it booted maybe 3/4 the times tried.

Saw my PSU has 4+4 pins to make up the 8pin, so I tried each 4 pin separately and it booted half the time, other half it just hangs like normal with no beeps and the cpu fan just spins but slower than usual (kinda wobble effect I guess).

Tried my 1 half of my 8pin on another machine and it booted up in a single try.

So came to my conclusion it's my board or I'm leaving out other possibilities?

Mind you all these tests were tested naked (nothing connected except PSU) and fully connected, same 50/50 boot on my system but 100 boot on others.
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Can this be done? (4pin 12v PSU on 8pin 12v Motherboard)

imho.....
try a better power supply before you condemn that board
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 11:37 AM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can this be done? (4pin 12v PSU on 8pin 12v Motherboard)

Sorry, the last post confused me... So your psu DOES have an 8 pin... Bah... Despite reading your bild post I never actually looked at the psu? <--- Exact reason why more than 1 responder is needed, It shoulda been found back in thread 1 of your problem.

You can't use the "other half" of the 4+4, Its not wired correctly I believe.

You also now tried the psu in another mobo, and it booted right up?

I'm with Joe, Try another psu in your system. PLUS reseat the cpu. It may have bent pins, goo in the pins etc.

This is starting to look like NOT a psu issue.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 12:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Can this be done? (4pin 12v PSU on 8pin 12v Motherboard)

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Sorry, the last post confused me... So your psu DOES have an 8 pin... Bah... Despite reading your bild post I never actually looked at the psu? <--- Exact reason why more than 1 responder is needed, It shoulda been found back in thread 1 of your problem.

You can't use the "other half" of the 4+4, Its not wired correctly I believe.

You also now tried the psu in another mobo, and it booted right up?

I'm with Joe, Try another psu in your system. PLUS reseat the cpu. It may have bent pins, goo in the pins etc.

This is starting to look like NOT a psu issue.
Yeah it does have 8 Pins total...looks like the pic below.
 

I'm not totally sure on the wiring but from the looks of it both look the same . In the previous scenario, 3 PSUs were used. Mine and 2 others from a friend. ALL PSUs booted the other PC (tried a PC from my friend) which was a 4pin loadout.

Tried ALL PSUs on mine, with my PSU I got a 50/50 boot, with the other 2 PSUs (4pin loadouts) I got 3/4 boot ups from all tries total.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 01:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can this be done? (4pin 12v PSU on 8pin 12v Motherboard)

Yha, I looked atthe manuf. page and it says 4+4 12V

The wiring is abit different, look at the layout in the manual linked by joe, it is close but backwards i believe.

Your p;su powers other pcs 100% eh?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 02:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Can this be done? (4pin 12v PSU on 8pin 12v Motherboard)

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Yha, I looked atthe manuf. page and it says 4+4 12V

The wiring is abit different, look at the layout in the manual linked by joe, it is close but backwards i believe.

Your p;su powers other pcs 100% eh?
Yeah it powers other PCs 100% . That's what got me thinking it's a defect on my board and not the PSU itself.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 02:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Can this be done? (4pin 12v PSU on 8pin 12v Motherboard)

Yha.. Too bad rma from the shops probably out of date.

Time to hit up gigabyte support.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 04:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Can this be done? (4pin 12v PSU on 8pin 12v Motherboard)

Thanks for all the help guys, guess this thread can be closed now since there's nothing that can be done .
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use the 8pin EPS 12V cable/plug to power a low end motherboard? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-19-2012 08:01 PM
PSU. 12v rails Thresh25 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 03-05-2009 11:32 PM
6pin 12v to 4pin 12v Converter? Poemaster New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-04-2007 06:59 PM
PSU 12V+ question on the 8800GTS! Fayt19 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 02-05-2007 12:51 AM
Running a motherboard off a 12v supply Noppy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 09-29-2005 05:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.