Can anyone help??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2007, 11:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default DVD burner issues!!!

Hello,

I'm new here so take it easy on me. I'm also not that computer savoy. But hopefully someone can lend a hand.

Here is my problem:

1 .I have an HP Media Center PC m7350n. About a year ago it crashed and my friend had to reinstall windows for me. In doing so my light scribe DVD burner is unable to read or burn CD's but is able to read and burn dvd's. My other disk drive which is a dvd-Rom is able to read CD's.


2. My other problem is that on the face of the PC I have an audio/video card with usb and firewire inputs which seems to also be inactive. It came stock with the pc I didn't add it.

If anyone can help I would really appreciate any input.

Thanks guys.
HV
__________________

highvoltage is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default

bump
__________________

highvoltage is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 03:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Did he use the recovery partition from ur comp, or a CD that he had?
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 04:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Sounds like some drivers need to be installed to me.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 10:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bruce
Did he use the recovery partition from ur comp, or a CD that he had?

I pretty sure he used the recovery disks that I made when I first bought my PC. What does this mean???
highvoltage is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 08:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

What superdave said, go into devicemanager and uninstall it and reboot. Hopefully it'll put in the right drivers. If not you may haveto search HP's site for drivers.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 03:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bruce
What superdave said, go into devicemanager and uninstall it and reboot. Hopefully it'll put in the right drivers. If not you may haveto search HP's site for drivers.
Yeah, I tried both of those tips. Niehter worked out!!! Do I have any other options???
highvoltage is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 08:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default

Sorry, all i can think of is reinstalling the drivers.
__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

That would probably be the solution, I had the ssame problem reinstalling an old PC with windoews without using the recovery partition and I had to search online as well as on some recovery disks (that fortunately came with the PC) to reinstall and get all the stock hardware to work again. I'm no expert but like everybody else said drivers.
GeminEye2k5 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 02:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Default hmmm you might wanna ask your friend

the proprietary drivers(hence y recovery discs are prompted to be made and included in the HDD) these can be found using your model # @ http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/...isplay=drivers if memory serves me you have one of the media centers m7000 series D/L all of the updated ones listed in the website above..all of them...the media centers had interdepent parts that may need something in another for all to work
seems like you need the new firmware for the DVD drive the model # you see in the device manager may not match the device but i believe the 7350 had the first generation drives so an update is called for anyway...other wise its might be damaged...a new LS drive from BENQ might run u 30-40 bucks and as for the sound card/firwire issue the drivers on the website should handle it....the sound card is intergrated and the fire wire should be handled by that driver but try all that apply it can't hurt
here is some imp info on the recovery discs if needed
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...os=228&lang=en
__________________

epiccollision is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.