Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2016, 10:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Thanks CarnageX!

I did try a new power outlet. That was the very first thing I did. The Microsoft 10 was an upgrade from version 8 and IEEE gave me something like 20 copies for free. So I hope it will work.

I just installed new RAM a couple of minutes ago...still no sweetness.

So do most people here feel it is time to change out the MB?

Is there any other test I can do with my limited amount of computer component testing tools?

Please point me in the right direction everyone!

Also, I am a Microsoft Partner. In the past they have invited my wife and I to their new release conferences and then handed us free copies of the newest MS OS as we left the conference.

That is how we got Windows 7 Ultimate for free when it first came out. At the time of release, I think it was selling for over $700. Microsoft also served us free breakfast and free lunch at each of their new release conferences. They have been really nice to us.

I kinda like that!
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 01:14 AM   #12 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,718
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Not really much else testing you can do short term besides just moving CPU/RAM to the new board and seeing if it tries to POST.

If you want to make sure that your copy of Win10 is retail, press Win+R to open up a Run command and paste in the following:
slmgr.vbs /dlv

Under the "Product key channel" it should say OEM or Retail.

If it's retail, shouldn't have any issue just swapping the board out (activation wise anyway...hopefully it should pick up the missing drivers on next boot and work fine without BSOD'ing).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 08:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
The Grinch
 
c0rr0sive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,773
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

I REMEMBER THIS RIG NOW!!!

It's possible the mosfets if the machine was in a building where it could reach incredibly high temperatures, burned out due to lack of a CPU fan moving air to their heatsink...

Win10 will cry foul if you change the motherboard to a different model, but, it's worth testing the CPU, and RAM in the other motherboard to make sure they aren't damaged.


I personally feel the mobo is dead due to overheating. CPU may have stayed cool, but the rest of that mobo certainly got warm.
__________________
Personal Machine: ECS B85H3-M | Intel i5 4460 | 16GB DDR3-1333 | eVGA 750Ti | Samsung 830 120GB
Server: ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 | AMD FX8350 | 32GB DDR3-1600 ECC | Intel Quad Gigabit NIC | 3Ware 9650SE-12ML + BBU | 650w OCZ ZS PSU | eVGA LP 710 | 10x WD RE 4TB disks in Raid10
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 09:45 AM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,718
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

[QUOTE=c0rr0sive;2189936]

Win10 will cry foul if you change the motherboard to a different model, but, it's worth testing the CPU, and RAM in the other motherboard to make sure they aren't damaged./QUOTE]

Usually a 50/50 shot with Windows if it will pick up the new board and not BSOD. With Windows 7, it was always Win7 Pro for me that would work...but not any other version. haven't had to try it with Win10.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 02:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Grinch
 
c0rr0sive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,773
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

I tried it with Win10... Same chipset but different model board and it went ape**** over activation. Haven't tried different chipset, but, I would assume Win10 is very forgiving in that department if it's similar, as in, Intel replaces Intel, and AMD replaces AMD.
__________________
Personal Machine: ECS B85H3-M | Intel i5 4460 | 16GB DDR3-1333 | eVGA 750Ti | Samsung 830 120GB
Server: ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 | AMD FX8350 | 32GB DDR3-1600 ECC | Intel Quad Gigabit NIC | 3Ware 9650SE-12ML + BBU | 650w OCZ ZS PSU | eVGA LP 710 | 10x WD RE 4TB disks in Raid10
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 03:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,718
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
I tried it with Win10... Same chipset but different model board and it went ape**** over activation. Haven't tried different chipset, but, I would assume Win10 is very forgiving in that department if it's similar, as in, Intel replaces Intel, and AMD replaces AMD.
But was it OEM or Retail? Retail should be fine.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 03:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
The Grinch
 
c0rr0sive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,773
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Not sure what the key would classify as since it was a retail Win7 key that was upgraded to Win10
__________________
Personal Machine: ECS B85H3-M | Intel i5 4460 | 16GB DDR3-1333 | eVGA 750Ti | Samsung 830 120GB
Server: ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 | AMD FX8350 | 32GB DDR3-1600 ECC | Intel Quad Gigabit NIC | 3Ware 9650SE-12ML + BBU | 650w OCZ ZS PSU | eVGA LP 710 | 10x WD RE 4TB disks in Raid10
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 04:12 PM   #18 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,718
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Not sure what the key would classify as since it was a retail Win7 key that was upgraded to Win10
Upgrade to Win10 should have taken on the license rights as what you upgraded from, so it should have been retail.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 06:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 784
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

By any chance has the OP checked the motherboards capacitors? A blown capacitor or two might cause this type of behaviour.

-Luke
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 10:28 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Not really much else testing you can do short term besides just moving CPU/RAM to the new board and seeing if it tries to POST.

If you want to make sure that your copy of Win10 is retail, press Win+R to open up a Run command and paste in the following:
slmgr.vbs /dlv

Under the "Product key channel" it should say OEM or Retail.

If it's retail, shouldn't have any issue just swapping the board out (activation wise anyway...hopefully it should pick up the missing drivers on next boot and work fine without BSOD'ing).
Carnage,

That is a nice little trick you shared! I gave it a try on my Windows 7 Ultimate that MS gave me for free and sure enough, it came up as "retail." I was kinda surprised because I thought it would come up as "NFR" [Not for resale].

I will try it on the dead security rig as soon as I have the parts transferred and reinstalled in the new motherboard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke127 View Post
By any chance has the OP checked the motherboards capacitors? A blown capacitor or two might cause this type of behaviour.

-Luke
Thanks for sharing Luke! I did not check the capacitors up close...one moment I will do it now...

Ok, I carefully checked them and all of em' appear to be fine [I see none charred, warped, or popped].

Well, do we have a consensus now that it is time for me to try the new MB?

Dang, I sure hope I did not fry the chip. Those i7's cost me over $300 three years ago, and just like the motherboard, the warranty ran out about 6 months ago...
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Toshiba laptop came with 32 bit Home Premium... Jayce Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-27-2007 12:55 PM
I came back to XP so i could use 2 different GPUs...now what? Aesrin New Systems | Building and Buying 11 12-12-2007 11:00 PM
TF Dedicated FEAR SERVER NOW UP! HAVOC PC Gaming 19 11-14-2006 08:51 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.