Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2016, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,103
Default Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Hi again everyone!

Wow, before, I was visiting this website every other day...now it has been many, many months! So sorry to be gone for so long. I learned so much from everyone here!

Ok, came home, my security system was down. Checked the dedicated security rig...dead as a door nail.

Ripped into it this evening. Everything looks fine so far.

So where do I begin?

I was thinking of pulling the PSU and testing it [I have one of the el cheapo testers that let you check voltage on the various cables...would this be a nice place to start?

What else can I do?

Thank you,

Soar

PS Oh, almost forgot...my rig!

Intel i7-4770k
ASRock Z87E-ITX
Seasonic SS660-XP
G.Skil Rip Jaws 8gb
Zalmon LQ cooler
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 11:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,481
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Need more details - what do you mean by "dead"? Any lights turn on? Any fans spin up? Any beep codes?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 11:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Need more details - what do you mean by "dead"? Any lights turn on? Any fans spin up? Any beep codes?
carnageX, so you are still alive and kickin'?

Good to hear from you. Been a long, long time! And thanks for replying...

Dead as in nada. No lights, no fans, absolutely nothing...

Did an in depth and in detail visual, everything looks purrrrrfect in the visual...but no power going anywhere.
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,294
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Yeah, test the PSU and try a different one in the rig. If you get nothing with a known good PSU I would try swapping out the CMOS battery with another mobo to check that.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 03:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Yeah, test the PSU and try a different one in the rig. If you get nothing with a known good PSU I would try swapping out the CMOS battery with another mobo to check that.
Hi Trotter! Long time no talk to you! How are you? Here, keeping busy. Got into ranching and sheep herding. It requires much more time than I realized.

Anyway, the security rig is super important because we need it for all the HD IP cameras. Need to monitor coyote activity here to keep our sheep safe.

Ok, I removed the Seasonic SS660-XP and installed an exact duplicate. Still no power...anywhere.

So sorry, I did not understand your suggestion about swapping out the CMOS battery with another mobo. Please clarify if possible. Are you saying install a new CR2032 CMOS Battery? Is that it?

Dude, I am desperate to get this rig up and running due to security concerns...

Here is what I have done so far:

1. Installed a working Seasonic SS660-XP. Hit power button, no go.
2. Checked voltage coming to the PSU from the wall, good 120v.
3. Carefully checked all PSU wires...all are good.
4. Carefully inspected the MB no burn marks or shorts noticeable.
5. Removed the two wires that go from case on/off switch to MB, and shorted the MB prongs to bypass the case switch...still no go.

I am beginning to suspect the MB, but not sure...

Not sure what to do next, but I am all ears!!!

Please help me out if ya can!
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 07:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,294
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Yes, the CMOS battery. Swap one from another board if you have one so you don't have to spend any money up front to test it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 08:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,880
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Can you get us a good quality picture of the motherboard? Sounds like the mobo has flat out completely died... Change the battery (though I have never seen a system stop cold cause of the battery), and if possible, test your other components in another machine to see if they still work.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 01:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,481
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Gonna suggest the super-simple option too: have you tried a different power outlet? Are you hooked up to a surge protector or UPS? If a UPS...are the batteries in it dead?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 09:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Thanks again for your awesome help Carnage, Trotter, and Corrosive!

Carnage, I have tested the power coming into the computer line with a voltage meter and all is well. I took this rig off of the UPS and trying to start it from the wall outlet. Wall outlet has full voltage according to voltage meter.

Trotter, no problem on the CR 2032! I purchased a shipload of em' for my gun scopes. But I still did the voltage check on the new one and it shows good to go. I also reset the BIOS with jumper and left it overnight...still no sweetness!

Well, I put in a new CMOS battery. Tried that. No go.

I forgot that 1.5 years ago I had purchased a Gigabyte Z97-HD3P MB. It is brand new, still sealed in the package. I also just noticed that the revuews in the ASRock Z87E-ITX are mostly total crap with many complaints of the MB dying after 1-3 years [this ASRock Z87E-ITX is 3.5 years old, on 24/7 the entire time].

I suppose I need to ask some more questions...

1. Is there anything else I can do to see if the ASRock Z87E-ITX is the problem?
2. Can I switch the ASRock Z87E-ITX with the Gigabyte Z97-HD3P MB or will I have problems with my legit Windows 10 crying foul?
3. Have you any other suggestions before I rip into this rig? [I need it up and running now due to security requirements].
4. In the specs this Gigabyte Z97-HD3P MB says it has M.2 SSD capabilities. May I use my existing SSD and utilize the M.2, or must I purchase a special M.2 SSD? And is it really much of a difference?

Well, that is all for now. Please help me if you can. I am ready to rip into this rig tonight if I have to.

Thanks again!

Soar

PS Posting pics per your requests! Before criticizing the small ITX MB in a larger computer case, please remember, I had this system in a super small mini-itx computer case inside a non A/C steel building with no ventilation and had problems with overheating, so I transferred all the components into a Cooler Master HAF XB EVO. It has run cool as a cucumber ever since...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 10.jpg (95.8 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 14.jpg (92.2 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg 15.jpg (90.3 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg 12.jpg (91.9 KB, 4 views)
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 09:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,481
Default Re: Came home to dead dedicated security rig...what now?

Answers in bold.

Quote:
Originally Posted by soarwitheagles View Post
1. Is there anything else I can do to see if the ASRock Z87E-ITX is the problem?
Tried the different outlet like I suggested? Other than that... :shrug:
2. Can I switch the ASRock Z87E-ITX with the Gigabyte Z97-HD3P MB or will I have problems with my legit Windows 10 crying foul?
Is this a retail copy or an OEM copy? If it's the Win10 upgrade version...was your Win7/8.1 an OEM copy or a Retail copy? If it was Retail you shouldn't have any issues (may need to do a phone call to rearm, but that's it); if it's OEM...then it was technically tied to the previous hardware and you may not be able to activate (and thus need to purchase a new copy of Windows).
3. Have you any other suggestions before I rip into this rig? [I need it up and running now due to security requirements].
See #1
4. In the specs this Gigabyte Z97-HD3P MB says it has M.2 SSD capabilities. May I use my existing SSD and utilize the M.2, or must I purchase a special M.2 SSD? And is it really much of a difference?
You can use the existing SSD. You don't need to use an M.2.
Well, that is all for now. Please help me if you can. I am ready to rip into this rig tonight if I have to.

Thanks again!

Soar

PS Posting pics per your requests!
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Toshiba laptop came with 32 bit Home Premium... Jayce Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-27-2007 12:55 PM
I came back to XP so i could use 2 different GPUs...now what? Aesrin New Systems | Building and Buying 11 12-12-2007 11:00 PM
TF Dedicated FEAR SERVER NOW UP! HAVOC PC Gaming 19 11-14-2006 08:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.