Call of Duty 5 taking up ~100% CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2008, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Default Call of Duty 5 taking up ~100% CPU

Okay so I have a problem with Call of Duty - World at War constantly hogging up 100% of my CPU.

I recently purchased an EVGA 8600 GT Superclocked (I'm short on cash), an upgrade from my aging BFG Tech 6600 GT OC.

My old video card only had 128 MB of RAM, so it supposedly could not support World at War. However, system requirements lab was proven wrong when I discovered that my computer could actually run WaW (on low graphics, of course). At that time, I had a problem with the game always taking up ~100% CPU. I would have to start the game and close it 3-4 times because the first few times it would take up way too much CPU, leaving me with a black screen for several minutes. In addition, every time I started or finished a mission, the game would freeze for several minutes, and I would usually have to close the game and restart it (or restart my computer). This was again caused by the 100% CPU usage problem.

When I purchased my new video card, I thought that it would solve the problem. I was proven wrong. Even though the game's graphics showed drastic improvements, WaW still constantly took up 100% CPU. I haven't tried it with any other games so far, but on my old card, I never had any CPU problems.

I thought the problem might be my processor, which is an outdated AMD Athlon 3500+ (single core) which is performance clocked at 3.5 GHz. However, according to system requirements lab, the WaW should work fine on my processor.

Anybody have any ideas?
__________________

FrozenVirus is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 54
Default Re: Call of Duty 5 taking up ~100% CPU

What are the specs for the rest of your computer?
__________________

Valdeam is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 04:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Call of Duty 5 taking up ~100% CPU

It's a problem with the game not the fact it's using 100% of your CPU, when you open anything you'll be using '100%' of your cpu, have you downloaded the latest drivers for your video card from the nvidida website?

I'm not sure too whether your 3500+ is really capable of running WAW, it's a 2.2Ghz single core which is definately pretty old for modern games like WaW.
Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call of duty 2 jay_bo PC Gaming 0 05-22-2007 04:52 PM
Call of duty 4!!!!!!!! hmammen General Gaming 12 05-01-2007 04:33 PM
Call of Duty 3 Help Oreo Microsoft XBox 8 04-04-2007 01:23 PM
Call of Duty 3. Oreo Off Topic Discussion 4 04-01-2007 03:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.