Cable modem and wifi router - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2013, 08:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Default Cable modem and wifi router

I have this cable modem
http://217.26.67.168/uploads/3/2/3261904/epc21003.png

And I bought this router
http://img.techpowerup.org/130307/Capture021.jpg

It's router + adsl, so it should work.

I connected enthernet cable from cable modem to router, than lan cable from router to pc.

Now, internet works on pc, and on laptop it shows there is a wireless connection, I connect and everything is good, but internet doesn't work on laptop or my phone or any other device I use to connect to that wireless connection.

Also, I cannot enter 192.168.1.1 on my pc when both cables are connected (The one from cable modem and the one that goes from router to pc), but when I unplug the one that goes from cable modem, I can access admin panel.

Any solution ?
__________________

pikachu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 04:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Cable modem and wifi router

Quote:
Originally Posted by pikachu View Post
I have this cable modem
http://217.26.67.168/uploads/3/2/3261904/epc21003.png

And I bought this router
http://img.techpowerup.org/130307/Capture021.jpg

It's router + adsl, so it should work.

I connected enthernet cable from cable modem to router, than lan cable from router to pc.

Now, internet works on pc, and on laptop it shows there is a wireless connection, I connect and everything is good, but internet doesn't work on laptop or my phone or any other device I use to connect to that wireless connection.

Also, I cannot enter 192.168.1.1 on my pc when both cables are connected (The one from cable modem and the one that goes from router to pc), but when I unplug the one that goes from cable modem, I can access admin panel.

Any solution ?
Well for starters, your internet works great on your pc but not your laptop.
In order to fix this, you will need to gain access to your router.
Now I see a picture, but I have one small problem... :/
I don't know what model of the router you have, without the correct information I can't do much.
Turn the router upside down, look for a model number and serial number and revision version if any.
Once you do that, we will try to get you inside the router so you can set it up with your isp.
One thing to note is your wireless nic on your lappy uses a mac address.
Find out what it is, and put it into the routers mac address list.
Once it has that, it will stop blocking you and let you in.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.