C2Q/DX48BT2/HD4870 Random Reboots.. (Long)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rageaholic

Solid State Member
Hey everyone, first time poster here. I've built probably over 1000 machines in my life (I'm a computer technician/manufacturer/consultant by trade), and for the first time I'm really at a total loss with one of them, and the problems it's presenting me. Hopefully someone here notices something I've missed in the following wall of text.

Keep in mind while reading; when it comes to anything software related, I was very meticulous about using nothing but the latest versions available. This goes for BIOS versions, driver versions, game versions, Windows updates, .NET updates, and DirectX Runtimes (August '08).

The meat & potatoes of the machine in question is as follows:

• CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
  • Motherboard: Intel DX48BT2
  • PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w
  • RAM: 4x 1GB Kingston Value RAM DDR3 1333MHz
  • Video Card: Palit ATI Radeon HD4870 1GB GDDR5 "Sonic Dual Edition"
  • Optical: Pioneer SATA DVDRW
  • HDD: Seagate 500GB SATA

I've been through a lot with the machine. I've spent nearly four weeks with it, RMA'ing parts, trying new configurations, you name it. No matter what I do, the thing will either reboot on it's own, or crash random apps/games.

The machine originally started out with a GeForce 8600 in it, and a Coolmax 600w PSU, which seemed to work just fine, until my friend started really using it more in depth than I had during the time I spent building it in the first place. He complained about the machine crashing here and there, and the gaming performance being underwhelming.

I ended up believing it was the video card that was to blame, as I almost never come across a bad Intel board or CPU. RAM passed tests in every slot individually with Memtest86. We ended up deciding on the Palit HD4870 card listed above, and in doing so, I advised him that he'd need a better power supply in the process, cue the PC Power 610w.