C: D: E: and so on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2006, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default C: D: E: and so on

Currently my hard drive is set at H: and I have 4 non existant drives taking up C, D, E, and F, and a DVD Drive as G. How do I change the letter on them? I'm trying to patch a game and it won't work because of the letter of the drive I think (It doesn't see the game there)
__________________

__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

if you're running xp right click on yout computer icon then click manage. Select the disk management tool under storage and just right click on your drive to change letter.
__________________

MrCoffee is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

When I go there I get the error: Windows cannot modify the drive letter of your system volume or boot volume.
__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 03:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

how did you manage to end up at this position btw? are these other 'drives' partitions or emulation soft?
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 03:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

I bought the computer built, later a hard drive failed and I had to send it in to get them to fix it. I don't know what they are, if you tell me how to find out what they are then I can tell you. Please don't give up on me on this I really got to get this fixxed.
__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 11:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Qwert
When I go there I get the error: Windows cannot modify the drive letter of your system volume or boot volume.
you cannot change the drive letter where your boot files reside (drive C) and system files (which ever drive u installed your os)
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 01:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

in usual windows logic its the other way round actually! not that it makes any difference but the 'system' files are the files like ntldr that boots windows (this must be drive C: (primary active partition) so you should see these there, you may need to unhide them, the 'boot' files will be on what ever drive your OS is installed to (H: in your case?)).

Anyway if you look in the disk management tool you ought to be able to see if your hard drive has been partitioned, there will be blocks with light blue bars at top next to the disk0 (or whatever), one block indicates the drive isn't partitioned where as segmented blocks indicate partitions and each partition will have its own drive letter (and appear as a seperate hard drive in explorer).

can you tell me the size of each partition and confirm that your system files are on C: ? (i'd be very surprised if they're not).

however, having your OS (or game) on a drive other than C: should not cause any problem with computer games (unless you're tallking very old games here). I'm guessing they did something funny when they 'repaired' your drive because if your OS was on C: before your sent it to them there is no reason is shouldn't still be when you got it back. Perhaps there are erroneous registry enteries that still point to C: .

What game are you patching may I ask?
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrCoffee
in usual windows logic its the other way round actually! not that it makes any difference but the 'system' files are the files like ntldr that boots windows (this must be drive C: (primary active partition) so you should see these there, you may need to unhide them, the 'boot' files will be on what ever drive your OS is installed to (H: in your case?)).
hehe...i always get them mixed up cuz it's actually confusing which one is which
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 06:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would re-install Windows.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.