Burnt 4-pin Power - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2007, 05:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Burnt 4-pin Power

My PC didn't power up properly and I was wondering what could be the problem. First there was no POST beep and there was nothing on the screen. The cpu fan was the only thing that was working and my motherboard is ASUS P5LD2-VM. Then I reset the CMOS but it still didn't work so I tried unplugging the 12V 4 pin power supply and I saw that it was burnt. I have posted some pictures. Both the motherboard 4 pin slot and the PSU 4 pin is burnt. I think other is working.

ImageShack - Hosting :: p5310008sx9.jpg

ImageShack - Hosting :: p5310005wz1.jpg
__________________

advancedgeek is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 06:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Burnt 4-pin Power

Also if my motherboard or PSU doesn't work then can you suggest me a good motherboard or and a PSU? I might get a good graphic card later on but I am not sure. I probably won't go SLI but probably PCI-E and intel compatible board is good. I have 2 A-DATA 667 MHZ 512MB which is 1G and 400GB and 80GB hard disk which is both SATA and also an dvd-rw burner which uses IDE and a Pentium D 930. Thanks.
__________________

advancedgeek is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 02:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: Burnt 4-pin Power

What was the brand and model of your PSU?

You can't always prevent this kind of problem with PSU, a wise move is to always opt for a good quality brand name and never skim on your PSU. I've seen quality name PSU go bad too so it's tough to say.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 05:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hayesville, NC
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Layzie Bone Send a message via MSN to Layzie Bone Send a message via Yahoo to Layzie Bone
Default Re: Burnt 4-pin Power

As far as board & PSU, that depends on what you use it for. For starters I would reccomend a PSU over 350 w for sure, depending on the CPU & Video card you're using will have an effect on what PSU you should use. If you're looking for something mediocore, not too expensive, but not so cheap that you hope and pray that it'll work. Look at the MSI P4M900M2, it's around $80, supports 667 DDR2 with two slots, LGA775, SATA & IDE channels, 8 Channel Audio, PCI-e. Seems to work just fine. As far as a PSU, if you're not doing anything special a RaidMAX 420 w unit should do the job and I can't say I've seen a lot of those DOA.
Layzie Bone is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Burnt 4-pin Power

your motherboard is fried for sure, you might of power spiked it and it killed the motherboard.

happened to me once with my Motherboard too, but it was in my 20 pin connector , dont know what caused it but im assuming it was a power spike or surge
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Burnt 4-pin Power

you dont use a surge protector?
also, learn to use marco on your camera, makes a big difference
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Burnt 4-pin Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
you dont use a surge protector?
lol now i do, i bought a APC surge protector after i learned my lesson
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Burnt 4-pin Power

lol, yea...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 07:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Burnt 4-pin Power

that isn't necessarily the fault of a surge, could be just a plain old bad PSU.

I know someone else with a pentium D that this happened to.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 09:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Burnt 4-pin Power

anyways I got my new motherboard and PSU but the problem is that my CPU might be fried as it won't beep for the POST and I want to make sure if other people had this kind of problem had their processor fried too. Also the new motherboard is Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 and the PSU is DELTA Serverpower 550W
Also is there any site which i can look up the price of processors in the past?
__________________

advancedgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM
shorting power switch pins cristo33 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-03-2007 12:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.