built new dual core comp, having problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 10:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default built new dual core comp, having problems

ok, here is my setup i just bought. AMD x2 3800+, EVGA geforce 7800gt OC, abit kn8 ultra mobo nforce4 ultra, 1 gig of corsair value select ram, windows xp home. i basically have the same setup as my friend except he has different ram and windows pro. well when we play games, his performance blows mine away. we can stand in the same spot in a game and look at the same thing and his fps will be 30+ higher than mine. we have the same video drivers. i dont understand why i dont come close to his performance.

now i have read the windows xp home doesnt support dual core processors and i have heard that it supports it just fine. who do i believe? im really upset with my performance. i have the latest BIOS, mobo chipset drivers, video drivers, cpu drivers, etc. im not happy at all. what can i do?
__________________

rich05 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 04:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

it could be your power supply that aint got enough power to push your rig

or the spyware+virus+trojan

or havent-been-defragged-since-1997 hard drives


really, there is a lot of stuff.
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what's his RAM and timings?
and what are your timings?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

he might have overclocked his computer
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Does he have more RAM?

How many processes does he have running and same for you.

After SP2 it does support dual cores - apparently, but it is still as dumb as pro is with it. Set one core to run programs and the other for everything else. Have you got the same resolution set?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 10:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

he told me that his computer is not overclocked. he does use corsair xms ram with 2-2-2-5 timing and 2 ca latency. my ram has 3-4-3-8 and 2.5 cas latency. i do know this can have a pretty good increase in performance from my current ram, but would it add that much?

and yes we use the same resolution. 1024x768. best for competitive gaming, imo.
rich05 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 10:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It will be about .5 of a frame more difference. What PSU do you have?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 11:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

ive got an Aspire 510w.
__________________

rich05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.