Built new computer but it won't turn on

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mystikal

Solid State Member
So I realize this problem is very very common, and I have looked on google for days now but to no avail. Please help.. heres the story. So I found an old computer in my basement and decided hey i'm going to get it up and running. The original problem was that it would turn on but it wouldn't display anything on the monitor. Ok, that was fine I thought it's pretty old i'm just going to go out and get a new motherboard and a new CPU and i also picked up a new 2GB stick of ram (which is definitely compatible with the motherboard I bought). So I hook up everything, mind that I've never done this thing before, and it just doesn't start... When i turn the power supply switch in the back, the 2 fans spin for a second and stop. Then when I press the power button the light flicks on for a second and the fans rotate abit too, but thats about it. Heres the specs:

Motherboard: AsRock G965M-S
Processor: Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200
Hard Drive: some old 80 GB IDE hard drive
Power Supply: AP-350X Startech 300W ATX (old, from the older pc)
RAM: (1 stick) 2 GB DDR2 800U
CD Drive: some old cd drive that plays dvds

So thats about it, I can tell you that my cd drive isn't plugged into anything, except the power supply, I have thought of the possibility of a wrong arrangment in the front panel, or that some things in the motherboard aren't plugged into anything. I can tell you whats not plugged in since im looking at the manual:

1. PS2_USB_PWR1 jumper
2. Clear CMOS jumper (CLRCMOS1)
3. All the SATA connectors (because i have 2 IDE hard drives connected to the IDE connector)
4.Chassis speaker header (SPEAKER 1, purple)
5. USB 2.0 headers (4, 5, 6, and 7)
6. Chassis fan connector (CHA_FAN1)
7. Floppy connector (floppy1)
8. Front panel audio header (HD_Audio)
9. 2x PCI Slots (I plan to connect my wireless card later)
10. PCIE2 slot (I plan to purchase a video card later)